A visit to a local market!steemCreated with Sketch.

Some exceptional crafters work on show at a Rotary morning market today!

A typical local market with about 100 stalls owned by local residents and selling a wide range of home made products. Clothing, fashion accessories, hand made leather bags and shoes, jewelry, vegetables, jams, fruit and many other items. My interest is normally in the artworks and I will show you a few examples here!

We loved the oak tree lined lanes in between the stalls!

This guy makes the most beautiful wooden replicas of cars, trucks, trains and even ships!

Here is an example of some of his wooden works!

Here we have some iron plating sculptures!

Here we have another example of the plating sculptures!

Ever seen an African Chess set?

Sadly most of our local markets are geared towards the tourist trade and I saw some prices on certain items here that equals my monthly salary, but at times there are still bargains to be found. Times have changed and the markets that we once knew and loved are long gone. To me a market should cater for bargain hunters, but today even bookmarks are sold at high profits. So be it.

We hope you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity.

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

What a cool market i love that it is in the tree lined area, those model cars are so cool
And yes I have seen a Chess set like that a friend of mine had one he got from somewhere in Africa

I also like the trees and the model builder has taken it up to supplement the small monthly pension that he gets. Africa is certainly full of wooden crafts. A funny thing happened yesterday, as qurator only posted my post link and the replies and it wouldn't post the picture. Sorry if you missed it, but the link is there! Blessings!

Yes I remember seeing so much wood crafts in the areas of Africa I have been and such skilled work as wellI have a few bits and pieces

I must have missed the Qurator post let me go and look for it now

No need to look, as I see that it was this post that you replied to my friend!

OK I WAS WONDERING lol

Stunning artwork here @papilloncharity, great that people use their talents to earn a living or as a little extra on the side not so! Thanks for sharing, blessings to you :)

I think you are right Lady Lizelle, as they have a right to supplement their income. Maybe I was a bit harsh, but I long for the days when a sweet cost 5 cents instead of 5 rands. Maybe I'm getting old hahaha.Blessings!

Outdoor markets are always a treat to get meandering around, pity prices have become rather steep over the years Stephen.

Thanks for sharing, this would be thoroughly enjoyed by #marketfriday with @dswigle

So steep that we can only look Lady Joan. It makes one feel guilty whenever a marketer look at one with hopeful eyes for a purchase and one has to turn away. I would love to support them, but we do not have the means. Fortunately there were a lot of tourists. I forgot about @dswigle and her #marketfriday swansong, but I will place this post in there this coming Friday. Thank you for reminding me! Blessings!

wow beautiful market my friend..
there is so many creative arts.. beautiful photographs.
Thanks for share with us..

The people are very arty my friend! Blessings!

Wow ..if I were in this market, maybe I would surround the wooden artisan from morning to evening..

I like to see people making artwork like that ..

He does indeed have a beautiful hobby my friend, Many things at the market, such as necklaces and other jewelry are homemade by them. Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97