Do You See what I See?

What? No animals at the bushveld waterhole?
Let me show you what I saw.

In the blink of an eye, two Wildebeest cross over on the water bank!

In the distance, three eland cows on their way to the waterhole!

An Impala herd is about!

An eland having a drink!

A gathering of Impala.

Stunning, a MacDonald,s (Impala) giving a lift to two Indian Mynah birds!

Why have the locals nicknamed Impala bucks after the fastfood chain Macdonalds? Simply because You can find a Macdonald's on most street corners and the Impala's are so many that you can find one behind every bush! Note that the Impala's also have the mark of an "M" on their behinds, promoting MacDonald's! Free advertising in the bush for Macdonalds! I am told that the small size of the Impalas make a fast meal for the lions, the same as Macdonalds fast foods for humans!

Now I know that this sounds very funny, but the naming processes of the locals smells of pure logic, as the people of the bush view life so different to the views of city slickers! Such as the above, their naming habits can at times be hilarious and there is certainly a lot of humor in their style! Another example is that one guy said that if you buy one of their crocodile skin bracelets, if you have to appear in a legal court and you wear the bracelet, the judge will cry and send you home!
How's that for a sales pitch?

Thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Great pics @papilloncharity, where was it taken?

It was taken at our home in Johannesburg! We have a fairly large garden at the back of the complex bordering on an empty veld and our suburb is surrounded by hills! Thank you for the kind support to our charity page! Blessings!

I would like to know too.

Hi Colin, kindly see my reply to @Lisette about where the shots were taken! Thank you for the support! Blessings!

We also call the Impala's McDonalds or Rooibokke in Afrikaans. I knew about the M on their behinds, but did not know it is because you see them behind every bush like a McDonalds restaurant in every street. LOL. Like that one. Nice pics too.

There are loads of Rooibokke in the Kruger. Around every bush. :)

Yup, I love the local humor! @lizette is correct in a way, as they are also full up in other parts of the country!

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is certain

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

excellent photography friend I liked your contribution so much and you will get very far

Great shot!! I just can't stop myself from looking at it. You are just so talented with the camera @papilloncharity!!

And you are always so kind with your gilded words! Blessings to you and yours!

Thank you my friend.

Perfect shots once again. I can only imagine how beautiful it is to see these creatures in the wild. Over here in Nigeria, in the southern part where I live, you can't find animals roaming like this anywhere in the forest.

Your blog is becoming a nice place for me to feed my eyes.

Sadly my friend, poaching is rife across the African continent! The best way to protect animals for our children, is to keep them in nature reserves under tight security. Glad you like our charity page! Blessings!

Hahahaha hilarious!

Is it all actually true what you said about the crocodiles?? It'd be funny.

Well, if it was true my friend, I would start selling croc. bracelets tomorrow! Hahaha

Lovely picture and amusing story about the Macdonalds!

Thank you, nice pictures and some humor always make me feel good! Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94