Harvesting Macadamia nuts at home!steemCreated with Sketch.

Below, I will explain to you in detail how I harvest the nuts!

Take note that I never shake the tree, as the wind does that for me and every morning I have to beat the squirrels to the nuts that fall overnight from the tree. About 20 nuts on average fall every night and early morning I collect 10 nuts, as I leave 10 nuts for the squirrels. Of the 10 nuts that I collect every day, 5 will go to the old landlady and 5 to us.
Sounds like a fair plan doesn't it and I have about 700 nuts thus far.
Let's look at the harvesting!

This is the macadamia nut tree at the front of the garden!

And here I am showing you some of the nuts on the tree!

After I collect the nuts, I place them on this cast iron drain cover to open the outer skin in the sun!

These are some of the nuts and you can see how the sun opened the outer layer!

So now I can easily take the nut out of the first layer of skin!

The nuts are a fair size, as it is still a young tree!

This is how I store the nuts on a window sill to dry out!

And finally, here are the smaller nuts also in the drying process.

Now I have to wait until the nuts are ready to be opened and when they are ready, I will show you how I test them for ripeness. To open them when they are ready for roasting is no joke, as the brown shell casings are as hard as steel and I have to use a gas pliers to crack each nut open. Even the squirrels with their sharp teeth battle to open the brown casings. But of course, the final product is so tasty that my labor is certainly worth it.

NOTE:
It is my first time to do macadamias!
I am sure that some steemians have done them before and some input here in the comments will be appreciated!

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

PHC-Footer-05.gif

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

A great thank you for this! May your great work grow in strength!
Blessings!

Squirrels in the picture.
My guest you leave some for them so they don’t go up the tree to look for more.
I recalled my mango tree.
The squirrels operated 24 hours.
They have no schedule.
Nice guy you are.
Keep on postin

Posted using Partiko iOS

I never saw a macadamia tree before, very interesting.
They were all the rage in Korea a couple of years ago because of the nut rage story. Some lady who is really rich went crazy because her nuts were served to her by daddy's airline company in a way unbefitting of a first-class passenger such as herself.

Thank you and I am glad to have shown you a macadamia tree my friend. I don't know too much about the nut rage story, or the rich lady, but I know that the rich's excesses are stealing our country blind.

Thank you and have a great weekend my friend!
Blessings!

This is very informative @papilloncharity always great to know about the process from the tree to our tables.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Glad that you liked it my friend!
Blessings!

Wow! I learned a lot in one go. Thanks for all that information Sir. Happy to drop by and learn amazing info.
Warm Greetings from UAE

Thank you and it was my aim for others to learn about the nuts!
Blessings!

Macadamias are my absolute favourite nut but I've never had a tree growing at home and am so sorry I never planted one as they do well in our climate. You are very generous sharing it like that @papilloncharity!

Thank you Lady Lizelle and its never too late to plant one now?
They are very easy to maintain and pests are not a problem.
In 3 years time you might have your very own nuts!
Blessings!

It's just to find space in the garden now, but would love a tree!

Thanks for this of course i have eaten them, but never see the stages to prepare them from the tree :) very cool to see

A pleasure to share JJ and I hope that it will turn out to be a success.
Blessings!

I am confident you will do a great job and they will be a success

We saw macadamia rarely in the shops and I learned about such nuts not so long ago. Therefore, it is interesting for me to see how they grow and how they are collected. Thank you!

Also glad to have shown you my friend and I like to work hands on with things that interest me. The nut cracking stage will soon arrive and it's going to be interesting, as I will have about 1000 nuts to crack by hand!
Blessings!

I would say it's a "Nut Cracker" post😉 I would have never knew the efforts put in..untill I saw your post...cracking and sharing so evenly....Steem on

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you and the "Nut Cracking" stage must still be done my friend, as I have only taken the outer skin off.
It is the hard inner skin that you see here that must still be cracked open with a pair of pliers to reveal the nuts. This will only be done when the nuts have completely dried out.

I will do another post to show the rest of the treatment!
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99