My vision of photography in social events.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Documentary Photography


Arte y Vida PCG-58.jpg

Hello again! Thank you for your good reception in my previous post, in this one I come to tell you a little about the medium in which I started to photograph, social photography.

Social events are full of surprises, moments that are unparalleled and that few people notice due to any kind of concern they may have: dress, food or even drink can influence their eyesight and not capture everything. The father of the bride crying, moments of extreme group joy, symmetry in the churches and my favorite part, children being children.

Arte y Vida PCG-28.jpg

That's where I come in, having worked for over 3 years as a lighting assistant at these kinds of events I know them like the back of my hand. I know that the father of the quinceañera will always shed a tear, I know that at every party there is a funny guy who is in charge of doing his show or all the preparation that a bride has before the ceremony.

008_by Arte y Vida BM.jpg

My first job as a photographer was as a second cameraman at these kinds of events, documenting them, telling them in my own way without having the pressure to take the protocol photos (like the first kiss of the bride and groom or the first quinceañera dance with her father). Capture details.

Honestly, it's an activity I could do for free, in fact my first two or three parties of this kind I did as a practice and I didn't earn anything monetary, just experience and confidence. The reaction of people and when they ask "when did you take this picture?" they fill more than any other coin, at least it makes my skin bristle and gives me a lot of satisfaction.

Arte y Vida PCG-36.jpg

Why no flash? I have two reasons. The first is because when you work with flash the photo is no longer stealthy, in my opinion there is nothing better than a careless photo. The other reason is that by documenting, you try to show things as you are living them, as your eyes see them.

323_by Arte y Vida BM.jpg

When they hire me, I tell my clients that they are not paying for photos, I am offering to show them their party, everything they didn't see because of the stress. I always enjoy the party as one of the best, the friendships I have made at these events are invaluable.

062_MyC_.jpg

I love making editorial productions, but nothing compares to the adrenaline rush of capturing a moment that will never be repeated.


If you want to see more of my work visit my work account in instagram and my personal account. Thank you.

Sort:  

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54