Carnegie Library in Bozeman, Montana

IMG_3358.JPG

I was in Bozeman, Montana this week and saw this lovely old Carnegie Library. I've seen several other of these libraries and just love the look of them.

According to Wikipedia, "A Carnegie library is a library built with money donated by Scottish businessman and philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. A total of 2,509 Carnegie libraries were built between 1883 and 1929, including some belonging to public and university library systems."

The Bozeman Carnegie library shown here was built in 1902-1903. The building was used as a library until 1980 and now is used for public events in the Bozeman community.

Do you have a Carnegie library in your hometown?

Sort:  

They look well built structures that's for sure :)

Yes, so cool, I think.

So cool. We do not have a Carnegie library in my hometown, but apparently there are 14 across the state of Alabama, not including 5 academic libraries.
As I was reading your post, I kept thinking, "Bozeman. Why does Bozeman sound so familiar to me?". Then, I realized I'd heard of Bozeman, Montana because of The Big Bang Theory. And they say you can't learn anything from television. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76