My top 10 photograph moments of 2017

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

As I learn more and more from you on this platform I feel 2018 is going to have a lot of new experiences. We all have our reasons why being here and I'll be the first to admit that I'm looking for a way to fund collaborations with as many people and organizations I can. I feel 2018 will be one to remember and I feel my purpose to give back to the community has taken a step forward. So here are 10 moments in 2017 that I feel captured something positive in my life. In no particular order....

#1. May Day Parade, by Heart of the Beast Theater company - Minneapolis, MN
This annual event is highlighted by the enormous puppets crafted by local volunteers. This 30 odd year tradition is not only one of the longest going festivals in mpls. The day focuses on Community building, Community empowerment, education, social change, and encouragement to "fight the Man"

#2. Sespe Wilderness, Los Padres National Forest - Southern California
Here lies one of the last few pools of water on the only undamed river in all of California. Strangled with drought, this oasis is a life source of over 90 critically endangered species. Sespe is one of 5 privately protected parcels of land constantly under threat of human encroachment and agriculture.

#3. My Godson Lorenzo. Holding book by Adam Mansbach titled Go the Fuck to Sleep
I became a Godfather this year and my "little Dipper" wouldn't be complete without this pic!

#4. Big Sur, Southern California

This section was all we were able to see of the spectacular coastline of this region. The year before this section took on massive landslides which collapsed bridges on hwy 1. Nature will have it's way right!?

#5. Back Country in Badlands South Dakota

Coming through this part of the US a few times now, I can see why Indigenous people value this space for its spiritual significance. There are only a few places I've seen that provide as much peace as this place does.

#6. Pottery, By Traudi Pawlowski Setz

If Steemit existed 30 years ago I think my Mom would have benefited significantly. Once a commissioned potter at the Gmunden Keramic Pottery company, (which was established in 1492). Her work is featured in museums back in her homeland Austria. Today 30 years later the stresses of raising a family in a foreign country took priority. This is what happens when a system doesn't support the arts. Her educational programs were all defunded by the state, as well as manufacturing adding to her difficulties. Luckily creatives will always be creative. Here is a recent piece she has made and now sold.

#7.Drone Pilot Shiyé Bidzíll, Oceola Wisconsin

On our first collaboration on a project for Lilly Springs Farm, Shiyé and I were spotting shot locations along the St. Croix River. Snapped this shot as the morning vapors rise off the water.

#8. Indian Relay Races, Shakopee Minnesota

The Mdewakanton Sioux Community annually host a traditional horse race. It was here that I started to dive into doing film for sustainable communities and provide a service. Getting to know aspects of my community has enriched my life and makes me more connected to things important. Something that the Native Community lead by example in.

#9 Rainbow happen in the morning, Flight from Mpls to California

This was the longest sunrise I've ever watched. The colors and landscape was more vibrant then anything I've seen. Most of my work I don't edit, and done with a smart phone. This photo reaffirms that photography is more about being in the right place at the right time then having superior technical skills.

#10. My Wonder Woman

I'm thankful I have this person in my life. Someone who I can share in surpassing vulnerabilities and shaking off fears which only hurt ourselves. Those are true Superhero Power's she is mastering. @kaciwegleitner

Thanks for checking out my post today. I post often and working on getting my D Tube channel up and running but have some computer issues at the moment. Keep up your Steeming folks.

Peter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62668.08
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58