Trying to make blurry sky with ND filtersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

_1120101-Edit.jpg

This post (first pic) is also my submition for todays monomad skies challange

Few years ago I bought my first camera. Of course in the beginning I photographed everything: water pouring from the shower, bedside lamp etc. Few thousands pictures later I tried to make better shots. I remember, that on trip to Hungary with my fiancee and our best friends was my first vision of pic made during a day with blurry clouds.

I waited 2 days for windy day and nice looking clouds. I knew, that conditions are good enough, so I took my tripod, my kit-lens (Nikkor 18-105) with Marumi polar filter and walk to the Balaton Lake.

Polar filter can darken your exposition even for two stops, so that was the reason I took it with me. First shots and first fails...even with aperture set to f22 (which is not the best quality you could get from pictures) my shutter speed was too short, to make a blurry clouds (look below).

_DSC1313.jpg

Allright, I thought that it has to be some other trick for that, because I have seen pictures like that and made during a daylight. So my second idea was: I will wait for the sunset...weaker light = longer shutter speed.

Few hours later, when almost during sunset I made another pictures.
It still wasn't something I wanted. Light was far from what I had in my mind and also wind was gone completely.

_DSC1320.jpg

Pic above was made with 20s shutter speed and clouds did not move even a milimeter. That was the moment I gave up

ND Filters for the win

Some time later I learned about ND filters...something that can dramatically extend your shutter speed during daylight. It's some kind of darkening glass, like the one in welding mask. I thought about buying one, but these are not cheap (like for a piece of darkening glass...c'mon prices are sick), but always I had other things to buy. I prefferred to buy lenses rather than ND filter. Of course I tried to imitate that kind of filters with piece of welding glass (which is really cheap), and it is not a bad idea, but if you want to do the same, make sure that welding glass you want to buy has no tint color. Mine was green as hell. It's fine when if you accept monochrome pictures only. Don't think that you can change that tint in post with white balance...tint is too strong.

Two weeks ago I thought about blurry clouds again...and hey - I could afford buying ND filter but I was confused with diversity and strength. Finally I ended with testing few apps with ND strength calculators. The best for me was NiSi Filters. Thanks to that I made my decision to buy ND1000. Below are results of quick shooting. Wind was weak, but good enough to make a result on pictures. Hope to get better at that type of photography soon.

_1120103-Edit.jpg

_1120100-Edit.jpg

_1120097-Edit-2.jpg

All photos used in this post are mine.

Sort:  

Thank you so much! Soon I will post new things

Great! Waiting for your posts dear @pgrab86!

Oh my gosh, these photos are amzing @pgrab86. Epic photos. Thanks by the way for checking my photo out.

Bardzo dobry post , gratki i do nastepnego !!!

Dzięki :) Jestem bardzo zaskoczony, jak na "debiut" dłuższego posta :)

Congratulations @pgrab86! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This is a cool filter! Nice pics.👍

Thank you. Glad you like it

Congratulations @pgrab86! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @pgrab86! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @pgrab86! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @pgrab86! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Wow just wow! This is awesome! I've always wanted to try one of those filters. Love the result.

Oh, thank you! It's really motivating especially from person, who knows how to make great pictures :)
When I thought about making something while waiting for filter to arrive, I have that church in mind. Got lucky with the weather also :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99