New photo contest launched on Steem and my first entry

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemian friends and followers!

Do you remember all those cool photo contests once hosted by @juliank? If you were around already, I am sure you do and if you were a regular participant like me, I bet you still miss them, right? Then I have some good news for you! It looks like @gabeboy just came up with something very similar. His new initiative @photochallenge comes with a photo contest for each day of the week:

  • Monday - Monochrome
  • Tuesday - Scapes
  • Wednesday - Animals/Plants
  • Thursday - Structures
  • Friday - Food/Fun/Action
  • Saturday - Mobility
  • Sunday - Humans

Sounds interesting right? The weekly pool prize is 17.5 Steem (0.5 Steem for 5 daily winner) and the cool thing is that you have as many as 6 days to submit your entry in the contest. So for example, you can submit your monochrome photo any time from Monday to Saturday. Just make sure to always use two tags - the general tag #photochallenge and the specific tag for the particular day (for example #mondayphotochallenge). You can learn more about the rules of the photo contests here.

Today is Friday which comes with the Food/Fun/Action photo challenge but for my very first entry, I decided to go for my favorite theme and that is the animal photography (that is also why I used the #wednesdayphotochallenge tag).

IMG_20190409_103337.jpg

Not my best animal shot for sure but definitely the latest - I took this close-up of what I think is the brown anole just two days ago. This little fella was chilling out under the chair on our patio :)

I am really excited about the newly launched photo contests by @photochallenge, I will definitely be a regular contributor to some of those categories :) Thank you so much for hosting them @gabeboy!



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

Jaaj, to je bobek krásný:)😍máme ale hezkého súseda;)

Pan anolek :)

Great capture! You convinced me! I entered I saw this earlier and was very confused by the rules. Thanks for making it simpler for me to understand!

Haha I am not sure if I understand all of the rules myself but I am glad that I made you join this fun :)

I'll do it once, at least!

Oh does that lizard normally look like that @phortun? because it looks like emaciated LOL :P

Good point @cryptopie! I actually wondered that too. I think they shouldn´t be this skinny. I might start putting some food on our patio :D

What impresses me is not even the photo, is this fella staying still hahaha they generally run away

Good point! I could only get so close to him because it was just after rain and the floor was still wet and these guys cannot really move on wet surface :D But I think he was a kind of exhibitionist too :D

How have you been Arthur?! All good in London?

All tired HAHAH, but going. Hopefully in June I'll start moving again, to where? I don't know.

Are you in Mexico? When are you coming back?

Yes buddy, still in Mexico. Just about to head south to Colombia for a while for the visa run. We will probably be going back to Europe in August so hopefully, you will still be there!

alive... just wow.

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has received a 9.99 % upvote from @boomerang.


You just planted 0.10 tree(s)!


Thanks to @liltammy

We have planted already
8151.79 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 23276.51
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98