Smartphone Photography of Urban and Rural | Diary Entry # 6

in #photography6 years ago (edited)
In our #introduceyourself post, it was mentioned how I love taking pictures (by the way, it's me @travelingmercies). Just last week, I was able to watch a Japanese film based from Haruki Murakami's book, I had so many questions regarding the story which were not answered in the end. But, the frustration was balanced out by my awe in the cinematography of the film. The colors used were rich and at the same time dull and the framing was odd (my friend got some meaning out of the framing, it fits my description of it being odd). Also yesterday, I went to a film making workshop and learned some 101's of how to produce quality films.

Those two recent activities made me browse on my camera roll (smartphone) since I left my camera in the province. I played at some photos I took in the past months, adjusted its colors, the perspective of the shots and fix the lighting. Since I'm working in the city, most of what I see are buildings, rail roads, buses and bridges. Most of the time, I find myself taking photos of buildings, especially the ones that seem special to me. Here's one I took when I was in BGC (Bonifacio Global City at Taguig).

U R B A N

A07D9AE5-93CE-4C2F-97CE-30C39B01D53A.jpg

My brother once told me that the key to architectural photography is the alignment of your subject. That is why, whenever I would shoot some towering buildings, I make sure I got a lot of space for my post-editing (i.e. fixing the horizontal and vertical perspective). I loved how this building mirrored the other building across it.

R U R A L

Just recently, I was able to go to Pagadian City, Zamboanga (still a city but it has rural areas) for a fieldwork. After the trainings, we were able to roam around the place, we went down the boulevard and we saw some residential areas along a body of water.

3C6DF589-1A93-4A20-AB16-E434C946B32A.jpg

On the other side of the boulevard is the mountains and sea. On this side is also a port where a number of boats and ships were just on stand-by.

DD2FA8D6-72CE-430D-A999-C3EE8333ECEF.jpg
instagram: hazelglaine

It was already late in the afternoon, and I was not able to take some photos of the sunset but still the calm color of the view was something worth keeping.

Sort:  

Nice photos

Congratulations @poorkidsinside! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75