[NEW ZEALND ADVENTURE] Camper Van (Week 2)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

New Zealand Adventure

fullsizeoutput_ec4.jpeg

So

It seems like I'll only be able to post around once a week. Its hard traveling in a camper van fishing for free wifi to upload. Currently Im staying at the #RainbowLodge in Taupo, NZ, soaking up all their free wifi lol. So to recap the amazing traveling week, I met up with a few people from Germany and a guy from Mexico in #Auckland and we decided to all get camper vans and travel the North Island of New Zealand. Funny Story; We met because they were looking for weed and saw that I was black.........Of course in my response, I said "Shit me too" lol. So we all bonded over some beers and decided to travel together.

fullsizeoutput_ecb.jpeg

We Started by heading up to #CapeReinga from Auckland.

This was my first time driving on the left side of the road, but getting use to it is easy. Look left first! The beautiful thing about this country, is that there are several different landscapes on one island. At one point it looks like the hills of Ireland and the next you're in the Amazon. The weather was a little shitty in the Cape and our vans got stuck in the mud....but thats adventure for you. Had to throw some towels under the tires to give them traction up the muddy hills. With minor set backs we were on our way.

On the way back down, we stopped by 90 mile beach and picked fresh "Tui Tui" from the sand. Tui Tui is a type of muscle you find on the beach. I was talking to the local Maori and they told me to try them raw........It was amazing. After I had the bright idea to collect a bunch and make a bomb seafood dinner for me n the boys.

Heading back down the cape, we pushed straight through to #Rotarua; south of Auckland. The city sits on an active volcano, so the city smells like sulfur. Its astonishing to see how the #Maori people have adapted to tourism and still maintain their culture. Though It seems they are struggling to mix white culture and maintain their core values; the people are strong and proud of who they are and where they come from. I did the Maori Experience which is a tour explaining their people and they ways of their heritage. After an amazing dinner; Mexico and I split from the Germans and pushed over to the Tongariro Crossing.

fullsizeoutput_ecd.jpeg

The #TongariroCrossing is located in the Alps next to #Taupo, NZ.

We camped on the side of the mountain the night before and nearly got frost bite, but it was worth it. On the way up the mountain, we stopped by #ChateauTongariro that looks exactly like "The Shinning". We walking in extremely underdressed and started playing a game of Snooker pool with some Old Fashions. dope game btw. In the morning; come to find the tour lady told use wrong directions and we were on the wrong mountain. I called the tour company and they basically said " Shit mate you're outta luck". I said, "Fuck that we moving!" Speeding down the icy mountain at 5am, we passed the tour bus and busted the nicest U turn in our camper van. Following the bus like a mad man to the next pick up spot; we finally could relax and say we made the trip lol.

THE CROSSING IS NOT EASY!
Guys this shit was hard. It was a nice 1hr brisk walk to the base, then shit got real. One path takes you strait up a mountain parallel to Mt. Doom from Lord Of the Rings. Short little break, then another sheer climb to Red Crater. Once at the top though it was worth it. You could see for miles. The turquoise volcanic pools set a nice contrast to the charcoal grey landscape. Now the hard part for my knees began. The decent was such a pain and about 3 hours. By the end may knees where blown out and my thighs were cramping every 5 min. Probably should have gotten wasted the night before lol.

fullsizeoutput_eb4.jpeg

Everything was so worth it. After the hike we headed down the mountain to #TaupoLake which is where I'm currently staying. I applied for a job at Chateau Tangariro so hopefully I get any available job. This post is a mashup of the week so I'll be posting random highlights through out the week.

I'll post my Snaps on #Dtube so please check them out to get the visual experience. Ill post two videos today and shoot for a couple tomorrow if I get wifi.

Thanks everyone for following my journey. Please support me in my travels and leave a comment. I don't need upvotes, but really do appreciate them.

I LOVE THIS WORLD AND I LOVE YOU ALL

STAY BLESSED PEOPLE

Follow my Instagram @Questpic

@Popolo9thIsland

Sort:  

So tell me about New Zealand, how did you spend your time?

Fishing

What did you catch?

Free Wi-fi hotspots! 😂

Lol always fishing for the big WiFi

Made this just for you: a Wi-fi whale! wiwhale.jpg

😂😂😂😂 dude you’re awesome

Thanks, I try. He says his wi-fi password is "EEEEUUUUURRROOOOOEEEEEUUUUUUGGGHH"

Awesome shit man. Hope you find some weed! That hike sounds dope and you got some lit pics out of it I'm sure.

I bet that drones getting some use too! Keep on stacking content. You got months worth now I'm sure! Upvoted and Resteemed for Popolo!

lol already did bruddah! and no one allows you to fly drones over here! they have privacy issues everywhere

damn! not gonna catch no whiteys fuckin :(((

So wtf are you gonna do with your drone then?

fuck that I still fly..............Welcome to the danger zone! I do some top gun flying, get my shots, and land lol

Awesome dude! Can't wait to see the video

trying to take advantage of this wifi, Im trying now 🤙🏾

Good stuff man!

thx man! the adventure continues

UPVOted and resteemed bro!

Awesome post and thanks for sharing! Definitely looking forward to seeing more. Also just be careful about them Orcs. You never know...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64