You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photographer's Little Rant... And Some Opinion Questions For You

First off, gorgeous photos. I mean your talent speaks for itself. Thats a hard one buddy. You kind of want to set a precedent. If you start allowing discounts now how do you know other people won't reach out because of that job and ask for the same discount. I understand the other side of the coin. My dad used to always say, the squeaky wheel gets the grease
. I would reach back to them and tell them that there really is no slow season. Gosh I'm already starting out bad... I already have an attitude and I just started🙄🙄😂😂 ok. Ya... ignore it HAAAA.
I would email back and tell them a price that you're comfortable with. What your off-season price is. Call it an off-season price so that they think or understand that you already have a system of pricing. A lot of people understand photographers are freelance and they like to take advantage. There's a difference between asking for a discount, a payment plan or little help. Then to intrusively ask, without thinking about the photographers pricing plan.. They automatically went in assuming... that's what I would do. And if you don't get them as a client, then it probably but it would have been more hassle then worth the money. But I understand a family man, that needs to work make money for his family. So you can go on all those fancy vacations Into the Wilderness. LOL.

Sort:  

Thank you! Haha! Yes, I need more of those fancy vacations in the backcountry, sleeping on the ground... Actually, that is my kind of paradise!
Fortunately for me, after being in the business for 20 years, I'm in pretty high demand and I don't need to worry about losing one potential client. So I kept it simple and emotionless:
"Hello. Thank you for your interest in my photography services. I’m sorry but I don’t feel comfortable shooting for someone who is asking for a $300 discount. Have a great day."
I'm hoping that get's all the points across quickly, in only a slightly insulting back kind of way...
Have a great day @prettynicevideo!!!

Sometimes you just got to be straight to the point. Cool. Im glad you got that straighten out!🤘

Yup! I'm glad I finally responded too. No reply back so I think the point was understood.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88