Paid A Visit To Etiwanda Falls

in #photography6 years ago

Today I decided to go on a hike, since I had a free day and I always enjoy getting away from the city headaches. For once I actually brought along my phone to maybe, just maybe, take some pictures. Well I did take some, not too many, but some. So I thought I'd present what I saw to steemit, being new here and all.

20171211_100416_HDR.jpg

As you can see, Etiwanda falls isn't much of a waterfall, and it has some graffiti on it. This is an unfortunate side effect of it being well known in the area.

20171211_095818_HDR.jpg

The wind has been pretty rough here lately, and it left a lot of wood on the floor.

20171211_095252_HDR.jpg

A little bit upstream I found this tree that had been toppled by the wind. I thought it was interesting how it's still alive and growing. I've never come across this before.

20171211_100102_HDR.jpg

All these fallen leaves gave off that smell of decaying plant matter, the beginnings of fresh soil. For now it smells a little more like cow manure than humus, but I love it all the same. It's certainly a lot better than city smells.

20171211_100748_HDR.jpg

Speaking of which, there's that shitty city I came from in the background. This is about an hour east of Los Angeles btw.

20171211_103046_HDR.jpg

And here's an even better view atop a nearby hill. Even with all the wind lately, there's still that blanket of smog that's all too common, especially in the US.

Well, that's it. Have a nice day (:

Sort:  

Congratulations @proditor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

looks a little like the flinders ranges in south australia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57