Fire in the Sky

in #photography6 years ago

Happy Solstice everyone. The longest night of the year is upon us, enjoy and get ready for the longer days to begin.

I'm fortunate enough to have a top floor apartment that overlooks the bay and I get to watch the sun move across the skyline throughout the year. It's now settling in the little V notch of the island across the water which happens to mark the end of it's journey south. From here on out, it'll start moving back the other way.

File Dec 21, 10 07 36 PM.jpeg


A final goodnight before changing it's course



Some of my other recent posts:


Life With Girlfriend - Burrito Night
My First DTube & Vlog - On Steem Milestones, Upcoming Curation Changes and the new dapp What
Kickin off the Season!

forestfooter.gif


Images from: Freepik

Sort:  

I love the view from your apartment. Those sunsets never gets old. 😊 Great job on the photo too... it’s beautiful!

Great pic ! Happy Solstice to you ;-)

Happy Winter Solstice, my friend. It is a wondrous time. Tomorrow we celebrate Wigilia (Polish holiday celebration) and usually we do it on the day of the Solstice. However, with everyone working, it was easier to do it tomorrow. It's close enough. We always do it around the 20-21-22, depending on which day the Solstice falls. Tomorrow though, we celebrate the Solstice and it represents, yet we already enter the new cycle, the new year (at least it's the New Year in my created fiction world haha) because the days are renewed already. Tomorrow will be longer than today (well the 22 will be longer than the 21). From now, we can look forward to more day and less night, but still enchanting night, since I love the night and am a creature of the night. Yes, I am a creature :p And we save our onion peels to colour our eggs at Easter.

Enjoy your Wigilia celebration :)

Tomorrow though, we celebrate the Solstice and it represents, yet we already enter the new cycle, the new year (at least it's the New Year in my created fiction world haha) because the days are renewed already.

I feel the same way! The solstice represents the shift of the season and the beginning of the new year for me as well. Just makes sense.

Much like the idea of a 13 month calendar (which has a cool story I think you'd enjoy if you haven't looked into it).

I'm still sitting in the dark writing this post waiting for the first rays of dawn to start the new year. Definitely a long night :)

hehe yes to 13 months. Months were originally synced with the moon cycles and there are 13 moon cycles in a year. It my fantasy world, at first there are no months, but in later books, they have 13 months. Their New Year also falls on the Solstice.

I was not able to get much sleep, so saw the light come up, but since it was snowing, there was no intense Sun. Eventually I fell asleep ;)

It's sounding like I'd probably enjoy living in your fantasy world. I don't know what it is, but something about living in tune with the Earth's cycles just feels right at the core of my being.

I didn't realize you had written books and created your own world, that's really awesome :)

Thanks. I'll be starting to talk more about it here eventually. Right now, I'm reworking a few sections. My editor has done an edit of Book 1. So my main focus is that for now. There is still lots to do before it can be published, but I hope to publish Book 1 in 2018. That wold be nice. I have 5 books completely written, self edited, not all corrected. And then there will be a trilogy after the quintology.

I can't wait to start posting about it in detail. I mean, it's got magic, dragons, prophecies, and a people I've invented. Everything fantasy has to offer, I guess ;)

Wow, impressive. I'll be keeping an eye out for when you start rolling out more details :)

Nice pic

Nice post keep it posting
Please upvote my comment @raised2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61