30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 18 - Date Palm Tree Fruits

in #photography5 years ago

Because I've lived in a different climate until a month ago, one where we don't have palm trees, and orange or lemon trees, because it gets super cold during winter, I'm quite ignorant when it comes to palm trees.

So walking in Valencia and seeing oranges and lemons growing in trees almost everywhere, and these orange small fruits in the palm trees in the park is all new sights to me.

I did a small search on wikipedia and found out that this specific palm tree is called, among other names, a Date palm and, duh! it produces dates.

IMG_7378.JPG

So I've just realised that I had no idea so far about the type of tree in which dates grow, even though I've eaten dates many times.

Moving on, I've stumbled upon another article about date trees and discovered that they are either male or female. And unlike the majority of the rest of the trees neither bees or birds are attracted to their flowers and they have to be pollinated by hand. Now that's a good did you know type of info! ;)

Here's a closer look of some ripe fruits:

IMG_2486.JPG

....and not so ripe ones:

IMG_1256.JPG

Had I not gotten curious about this palm tree because I wanted to share it here, I would not have found out all these new info about dates. Yay me, ignorant palm trees level just got one level down ;)

Namaste


This article is part of the 30 Days Challenge Photos of Valencia. You can check out the previous posts here:

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 17 - The Magic (man made) Forrest

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 16 - Respect for nature

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 15 - Romantic passage under an old bridge

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 14 - Green & Yellow & Blue before Sunset

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 13 - Chasing Bubbles

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 12 - Running, walking, cycling - Valencians are sporty peeps

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 11 - Lazy Sunny Sunday in the grass

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 10 - Cotton candy clouds on the rooftops of Ciutat Vella, Valencia

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 9 - Futuristic buildings in a zen park

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 8 - Age is just a number & hairstyle is important

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 7 - It's about enjoying the simple things

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 6 - The Splendid Light & The bluest sky

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 5 - Mercat de Colon

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 4 - The mighty weird ficus tree

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 3 - Relax & Enjoy the Sun

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 2 - The "Harry Potter Trees"

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 1 - Goodbye and hello


Hatha Yoga 200H teacher. Copywriter. Human Design Projector. My educational background is in communication and psychology. You can find me mainly on my blog at BeingRaluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening, sexuality and many more. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @raluca.

Raluca

Sort:  

So weird! I mean, if the palms have to be pollinated by hand, does that mean they only survived because of cultivation? now I need to research that :) thanks for an interesting knowledge nugget, raluca!

yeap, I founded it pretty strange too. Please share here if you find some new relevant info about this, I'm curious too :) thanks for stopping by!

🏆 Hi @raluca! You have received 1.0 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @dragosroua
Subscribe: automatically support steem authors + earn profit :)

they are yummy??

Hello @raluca, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61142.49
ETH 2928.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67