Winter Wonderland in NC - Part 1

in #photography4 years ago (edited)

Those of you who have followed my blog for more than a few months know that I just recently relocated from San Diego, CA to Raleigh, NC. Now that I'm here, I'm very appreciative of having the seasons back. We've had an unusually mild winter with pretty much all of January requiring only a light jacket or a t-shirt to go outside and feel comfortable. Yesterday and this morning however, we had what I like to refer to as Winter Wonderland weather.

SteemitThumb.JPG

Having grown up in Western NY, we had our share of snowy days, so that's nothing special to me, but this kind of snow was pretty rare even up there. You know, the kind that is so wet and heavy that it clings to the small bare twigs of denuded deciduous trees and weighs them down, resulting in a beautiful canopy of snow and ice.

CloseUp.JPG

This morning I was up early enough to witness the sun filtering through the trees and dancing off of the thousands of little tendrils of snow and ice up there in the canopy. I've been doing a lot of product photography in my new light box, so the camera was out and all ready to go when I dashed at the chance to finally get some photos of this rare phenomenon.

Creek.JPG

The above images will be the start of a small series. I found quite a few of these photos I took this morning that I really like, so I'm going to post a few of them each day until they're all gone. I hope you enjoy them!

All images are taken by me with my Canon T2i
posh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67