Invasion of the Soldier Ants — The Last Stand

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

623AC2F9-73B9-4D31-9D1B-0906438CFA7C.jpeg

I LIVE deep in the bushes of Africa. It’s all relative of course. But at any rate I live in the bushes where I worship the spirits of my dead ancestors with a strife that knows no penitence.

Everyday I offer oblations to them in the form of a dead infant- cockroach. And they respond, of course, by sending my way one or two misfortunes. And I receive them with great gratitude.

46638E17-842B-486C-9C9E-366163A13FBE.jpeg

It’s the reliability. Life with its vicissitudes can be exasperating. It’s nice to find a source that is constant in its dispensations. I dont take it for granted.

Well yesterday I went on my knees again and offered my oblations as usual. And what should I receive in return, courtesy of my great ancestors, but a host of soldier ants right outside my doors.

2255B22D-56F9-4BCE-8FAC-E62AF976E949.jpeg

I smiled of course, and looked back on the life I had. It’s been short, I concluded, but if this is the end then I don’t begrudge it. I thanked my ancestors and prepared for the end. I gritted my teeth. I braced myself. And then it hit me.

What does one do when life throws one a host of soldier ants right at one’s doorsteps? You take photos, of course, no matter if you’re a clueless amateur with zero photography skills or knowledge.

CE6CE3F9-CE4A-4ECF-AF8B-4B9935895A6A.jpeg

So I brought out my uber super duper expensive gear—a mobile phone—and shot!

89AF7536-DE26-4CCF-9D31-4B0B7ACB3B0C.jpeg

Look at those beautiful fuckers from HADES.

981CDEA0-6FD5-4FD5-9D82-D320FFB89F04.jpeg

Persephone herself


NOW I’ve always wanted to learn to take decent photos, because I’ve always felt that as Africans, if we have any advantage anyhow, with our lack of wide scale industrialization and whatnot, it is this—our still untamed wildlife and environment and the attack of the soldier ants!!!

F531A723-83B6-412A-9B54-593329E83ED0.jpeg

I mean people travel here from all over the world just to get a glimpse of these motherfuckers that are right behind my frigging backyard. Once I saw a beautiful snake, so green and ethereal I almost shed tears.

So I decided to brave the odds. Face death itself. Like a brave soldier that I am I stepped in the midst of the solider-ants. And guess what!?

0119AEF5-9896-4856-88E0-F381EA69435E.jpeg

Fuckers bit my dick!!!

Thankfully I was just outside the house. So of course I had to run like a mad man, clutching my trousers and yelling, FAYAA FAYYA.

63C385E1-DADB-46E1-B8FD-9C998C6C19D8.jpeg

But I did take some good shots—all for art’s sake. I conquered.

AC74324D-F82B-4CB3-B2C1-E2F2EA333391.jpeg

Look at them retreating. The destruction is complete. Take that, ancestors.

C34128A1-4AC6-4058-8BBD-DC41A9AC636C.jpeg


And thank you for reading and looking!

Sort:  

OMG they did???? Those fuckers. AAHHH wish they sucked it instead XD

😂😂😂...I doubt that would have been any betterr haha

Hahaha, it's hard to believe but if it really happened then I feel sorry for you :D Sometimes you don't need super duper fancy equipment and mobile phone is enough :D Great photos, great story!

Hahaha, it's hard to believe

Haha whattt! Trust me its not so hard LOL. Wasnt even the first time- happens a lot around here in fact.

Great photos, great story!

Thank you! For the kind words and for stopping by as always!

Cheers.

Hahaha, it's hard to believe

Haha whattt! Trust me its not so hard LOL. Wasnt even the first time- happens a lot around here in fact.

Great photos, great story!

Thank you! For the kind words and for stopping by as always!

Cheers.

Ya gotta suffer for art, man... Ant. I meant "ant."

Haha.
Ants for art's sake! Or is it vice versa LOL

Cheers!

VICTORY !!!!

Good job, razza! \o/

The photos are insane ! Very cool :D

Haha. Thanks for stopping by as always spoder. Much love <3

the photography is sick in this imo!!

I can't believe they did that to you :/ you still won tho. hope you're feeling better.

Haha I sure did! The sting doesnt last more than 24 hours max lol. Thanks for the compliment!

Haha good full recovery 😆


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @rasamuel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 17000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 18000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97