Lessons from losing a roll of film

I made a mistake and burned more than half of my last roll of film. I know this might seem like nothing - it's only 20 photos or so - but for me this is the "work" I done in the last 3 weeks and it actually means a lot. I had a few photos there that I really wanted to see how they came out. But more importantly, I know that each is important because I can not take them again.

I often wonder what is the value of a photo today when everyone has a phone camera attached to his hand, but then you lose a few photos - in the sens that you'll never see them which seems worse than accidentally deleting them for example - and you kind of...or I kind of... understand the value of each of those photos.

A unique take - bad or good but still unique - a never repeating moment, a stranger I'll never meet again, some light that reflects something that will never be right there again. It's all lost in the past. A photo would simply remind us that this was and it was beautiful.

I am more upset than I thought I'd be for this and I guess it's true what they say, that often you realize how much you care about something only after you don't have it anymore.

A lesson learned maybe.

Sort:  

Yes. Agreed! A time stamp, a moment that at best can only be reenacted.

/ᐠ.ᴗ.ᐟ\

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73