Minimalism Part I: Monochrome

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Merriam-Webster defines minimalism as "a style or technique that is characterized by extreme spareness and simplicity".

As a photographer, it is one of a number of challenging and often rewarding genres to shoot. I will often identify a potential minimalist image by probably the two most common aspects of minimalism - negative space and/or leading lines.

Architecture is the obvious choice for a minimalist shot, with its strong lines and shadows. But I also like to try and capture sparsity in landscapes, with this being more challenging to bring to fruition.

Below are some of the images that I have captured with a minimalist bent.

DSC_0635-1-6 copy.jpg


DSCF0218-1 compress.jpg


IMG_8306-1.jpg


IMG_9189-1-2_compressed-1.jpg


IMG_9374 ps_sats-1 resize.jpg


DSC_2627-1 copy.jpg


In Part II I will post some colour minimalism. I hope you enjoyed Part I. :)

Remember, you can follow me on instagram and facebook, as well as here, of course.

Sort:  

Excellent works there! Nice composition and framing 8)

Read my profile if want me to resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. @a-0-0

Fantastic photos, there. Resteemed by us!

Cheers mate.

Que bueno que te conseguí en @steemit. Estoy tratando de entender y estudiar un poco la corriente minimalista. He aprendido bastante con tu post. Gracias por la información.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62349.28
ETH 3026.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67