SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry - SPC48 - Nature Macro II - 'Call of the Wild' by @rjsudeep

in #photography7 years ago

So I was browsing through trending posts on Steemit and came across this amazing contest called Steemit Photo Challenge by @jamtaylor. As I'm quite interested in photography, here I am, giving it a shot myself! (No pun intended!) :D

You too can enter the contest by visiting this link: https://steemit.com/steemitphotochallenge/@jamtaylor/6rvj6g-steemit-photo-challenge-winners-new-theme-upvote-and-resteem-to-win-5sbd

I was supposed to select my best 3 photos, but being a really indecisive person, I'm finding it hard to choose, so I hope the jury chooses or better still, if you Steemians let me know in the comments as to which 3 are worthy enough for an entry into the contest.

Keep in mind, all these pics were shot on a Basic Point and Shoot Camera - The Sony DSC-W35 on its in-built macro mode. There was very little post-processing done on Photoshop for basic cropping, watermarking, auto contrast and tone etc. No digital manipulation was done for any of these photos.

My Entries:

1. Can't wait to spread my wings and fly!
I consider this one of my best images to date, which I was lucky enough to capture on one rainy day. It is a Caterpillar larva/cocoon/whatever waiting to turn into a beautiful butterfly! The photo has been zoomed in and cropped, but has no other major post-processing done! While many of them refuse to believe it, I have been lucky enough to have a couple of friends who were along with me when I clicked this pic, to vouch for its authenticity (or should I say virginity :D). If you look closely into the water droplet, you can even see the reflection of the road/pathway where it was clicked.

39862_1496742815127_4120439_n.jpg


2. Check out my webby wings!
This is a unique fly that I found on one of my nature trails outside my home. Considering that I was shooting from very close quarters, I must say this little fella seemed to have quite a bit of courage! Not the cowardly dawg, is he now! :D As with the previous image, only normal cropping done. The bokeh effect is also natural - The DSC-W35 is a wonder device for Macros, I must add! I miss having this lovely camera now :(

33564_1587911574289_3405900_n.jpg


3. Dude! I am a spider, man! I still do not know if my camera was having issues with the colour calibration or what, but this spider ended up looking way purpler than he was actually. Again, the photo has been cropped to a great extent and a vignetting effect has been added to lay emphasis on the subject. (I wanted to achieve this vignetting effect naturally with a fish eye lens and a SLR camera which I couldn't afford at the time of clicking this, so had to use the digital version. No other effects used though!)

40534_1496761415592_4219070_n.jpg


4. You're bugging me so much, that Imma come outta my shell! I found this molted (or moulted) skin of a cockroach-like bug loosely clinging on to an algae infested piece of something. The bug decided that it was too thick for it's own skin and decided to move on, while letting me click this amazing pic. No colour correction or any other effects on this. Just the cropping, watermarking and framing.

46751_1524257422975_7803734_n.jpg


In case you have any suggestions, tips or criticisms, do not hesitate to get in touch with me using the comments section. Do UPVOTE if you liked this post. Do FOLLOW if you want to see more of these things from me. And Do Resteem if you enjoyed this post! Thanks!

~~ Till next time, RJ Sudeep, over and out!

Sort:  

The detailing on the 1st pic is really commendable...great job buddy...best wishes for the contest

Thanks a lot @vj1309, really appreciate it :)

@originalworks Please do check this out :)

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @rjsudeep. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @rjsudeep to be original material and upvoted it!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @OriginalWorks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75