HONEYBEE SWARM!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Hi Everyone!

Spring has come early here in Colorado and yesterday I got my first swarm call.  I got a text with this picture asking me what to do.


So I dropped everything, left the office and charged off to where the swarm was. On the way I asked the person how high up in the tree it was. The response was, "About eight feet." Beekeepers know that normally means SIXTEEN feet. But I was lucky that this person was better than average at estimating. The bees were not hanging off the edge of a limb nor were they in a very accessible place. So I decided the best way to take care of them was to climb the tree. My ample, 53 year old frame doesn't enjoy climbing trees like when I was 12 years old. ![IMG_5239.JPG]() Sissy boy in the full apiarist suit. Normally, I just wear a veil over my face, while in shorts and a t-shirt, but I lost my veil so... ![IMG_5241.JPG]() Here's a little perspective to show you the size of the swarm. I shook the branch, got most of the bees in a box and took them home. They are currently doing their think in a box back at my bee yard. I'll check on them in a few days to see how they're doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62