Organic Gardening isn't for Sissies!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

So about five years ago I decided that the hillside facing the south at my house was going to be an organic food forest/garden. Had I the slightest idea of what that decision would cost me in time and effort, I probably would have thought about it a little longer.

IMG_5292.JPGThe first thing I planted was apple trees. Being the rookie gardener that I was at the time, I didn't consider the chief enemy of my apple trees.

IMG_2350.JPG

The mule deer is from Hell...
...if you really want to grow fruit trees around where I live. There's nothing they don't like on an apple tree. They eat the leaves, the blossoms, the apples, the stems, branches and they'll even chew off the outer layer of bark on a young tree!

Ask me how I know all this!

If you want to grow apple trees...or any fruit trees around here, you need to have a solution for these things. They are cute and adorable as my wife and daughters remind me all the time...but I just grunt and call them "the enemy!"

IMG_4399.JPG

My solution for "the enemy" was a fence...
...a high tensile wire fence. I built it last year, rebuilt it, fine tuned it and now, Bambi and his family will walk up to the fence and just stare at my apple trees with longing eyes. I receive cheap satisfaction of watching them try to figure out how to get in and after five to ten minutes, they just give up and settle for some buffalo grass instead.

The "fruit" of my efforts:

IMG_4406.JPG

Legitimate-sized HoneyCrisp Apples.
YES!
The time, effort and problem solving has paid off!

IMG_4421.JPG

Simple agriculture issues and problems mirror what we experience in life. We always have obstacles and challenges. In my opinion, the important part is the journey: how do I adjust and what is my attitude during the journey? Am I going to sit and whine about it and let the enemy become larger than life, or am I going to step back, analyze, think and solve the problem?

What enemies are you facing in your garden/life? How are you dealing with them?

Sort:  

Nice!
@avellana

That Apple Looks Delicious !

It was. I love HoneyCrisp apples, the ones at the store when they are in season are amazing. But for some reason, the ones I grew seemed to taste better. ;)

Upvoted this amazing post :) Do check out my blog I have written about The City of Gods that you might wanna check
Follow me and I'll follow back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61135.20
ETH 2928.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66