You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is There Value In Unused Pictures?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I've been shooting surf photos since i was a kid before they built the pyramids... well, maybe not that long. When i got into digital it was great. Figuring out what to do with all of them as the cameras got better and faster and files got bigger and took up more space was a constant juggling act. Your post reminded me i used to shoot digital like it was film and didn't shoot very many shots. After a short time i realized it was ok to just get more memory cards and shoot more waves. Not all were great or keepers and i used to spend hours on end deleting shots. Oh, wait did i mention i started buying external hard drives and storing shots there and not on my computer?

Oh, oh looks like i'm hitting the "too many thoughts too fast type with two fingers threshold"... but i digress.

Hmmm, i totally lost my train of thought...
Oh, yeah... here we go. My first external hard drive was 1 terabyte and it was expensive! Now i use 4 terabyte ones and the price is pretty cheap. So after all this writing i think i'm tryin to say i don't do much deleting at all anymore. Whew that was exhausting

Sort:  

Storing data used to be a lot more expensive, we got it good nowadays. I have a 1 terabyte hard drive that I need to get into at some point, I know there must be a lot of old photos I would like to see now, probably most are super shitty. But as I have a MacBook, the old hard drive can't be opened on this, I need to borrow someones PC to get everything out of there.

You can probably change the formatting on the hard drive to work with the Macbook. I can't remember how to do it though. Useful informant i am! haha. I would be afraid to do it without copying the entire thing to another one first. That's always a good idea anyway

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81