9 AMAZING SUNRISE PHOTOS

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

IMG-20180128-WA0005.jpg

Good day all Steemians.
I have some AMAZING sunrise photos to share with you.
The day after I had bought my new Canon Powershot camera, I could not wait to get up the next morning to take some sunrise photos.

The setting

Visiting my mother in law with the family, is always something to look forward to most December holidays. Spending time together, Going to the beach and having the best meals prepared by mother-in-law herself every evening.She lives on the lovely South-coast of South Africa in the Kwa-Zulu Natal region.

As this is a tropical and coastal city against the ocean the humidity is very high and takes some getting used to... Nothing a swim in the ocean can not fix.

Back to my story about my photos.

These were some of the first photos that I ever took with my (then) new camera.
I set an alarm for the next morning 03:30, as this is where the most eastern border of South Africa meets the ocean, the first rays of sun in South Africa strikes the beach here every morning.

The Sunset

As I awoke by the melody of my alarm, I glanced over to the window in despair. Just as my luck would have it, there were heavy clouds looming overhead and rain threatening to fall with every passing second.

I still got out of bed, as I am a "Lets make the best out of a bad scenario" type of guy so I thought I would see what I could photograph if anything.

Outside, on the balcony of the 3 story house the clouds were thick and threatening. I stood around for about 15 min and almost gave up and went back to bed.

Almost missed it!

I was on the verge of going back inside the house, thinking about getting back into bed, marking this as a failed attempt. As I was closing the zipper of my camera carry case , the clouds opened slightly, a breeze was picking up, blowing from behind me towards the cloud covered ocean. The clouds shifted even more and I was met with an astonishing sight.

The land, still covered in its nightly blanket of darkness, with this immense, pink, orange glare like a colorful flair exploding in the clouds, the sky was set on fire with color.

The following photographs are in sequence as the color quickly changed as the sun rose higher into the morning sky.

IMG-20180128-WA0030.jpg1

IMG-20180128-WA0031.jpg2

IMG-20180128-WA0029.jpg
3

IMG-20180128-WA0002.jpg
4

IMG-20180128-WA0003.jpg5

IMG-20180128-WA0004.jpg
6

IMG-20180128-WA0005.jpg7

IMG-20180128-WA0006.jpg8

IMG-20180128-WA0007.jpg9

I hope that you enjoyed the marvelous colors of an African sunset at its best.

Please follow me for more photography posts in the future.

Thank you all.
@rslabbert

Sort:  

Upvoted by Proudly South African Steemians(@psas). You can follow us for more truely South African content.
If you are from South Africa, you are more than welcome to join us at Discord. https://discord.gg/xRznW7S

South Coast is beautiful. I wish to have a place there one day. Maybe with all my steemit profits one day I can buy a house ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62