BIRD PHOTOGRAPHY #SOUTH AFRICA

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Good day Steemians.

While I had the chance to visit the Kruger National Park in the Mpumalanga province of South Africa I was fortunate enough to encounter some great bird species in the early morning hours.
IMG_2048.JPG

The Location
Situated against the border between South Africa and Mozambique, at the most eastern tip of South Africa is the famous Kruger National Park. The Kruger National Park is our number one tourist attraction in South Africa. Featuring the wildest wildlife we have to offer.
The BIG FIVE is world renowned and features the Lion, Rhinoceros, Cape buffalo, Elephant and the Leopard.

Upon arrival the first striking thing is the dry air and the intense heat. After a day or so, the heat is bearable after acclimatization and being distracted by the abundance of wildlife.
During my stay I was fortunate enough to see all of the BIG FIVE animals within a weeks’ time. The Leopard is the rarest of the BIG FIVE to see, with its super stealth and camouflage it was a privilege to see one.

I will do a post a bit later in time about all the animals that I saw and photographed during my week at Kruger National Park. Please be on the lookout for my future posts. @rslabbert

The setting
In the mornings I was up and out of bed by 04:30 in the morning, the heat made it impossible to sleep later than that. Already by 05:00 it was 29°C .
Coffee was the first order of the day to get me up and running for the day ahead.
Sitting outside as the sun rises there is lots of bird activity in the trees to be seen and heard. I always have my camera ready at hand to try and capture the perfect moment.

I am not a professional photographer, nor do I have an expensive camera. I take photos with what I have learnt myself over time. There is something mystical about capturing that moment of perfection forever. Patience is the key, and taking quite a few photos, you never know when it might be the perfect picture.

The Birds

IMG_2042.JPG

IMG_2044.JPGBlack Head Yellow Finch

IMG_2045.JPG__

IMG_2052.JPG

IMG_2051.JPGFork-tailed drongo

IMG_2047.JPG

IMG_2046.JPGRed Head Weaver
Because of the time limit involved I could not get the focus on the bird with the branch in front. I think it still looks pretty good in a strange way.

IMG_2048.JPG
Black-collared barbet

IMG_2050.JPG

IMG_2049.JPGAfrican green pigeon

IMG_2054.JPG

IMG_2053.JPGKnysna woodpecker

IMG_2057.JPGBlack Head BulBul

IMG_2060.JPG

IMG_2059.JPGKurrichane Thrush

IMG_2037.JPGCape Glossy Starling

IMG_2065.JPG

IMG_2063.JPGSharp-tailed starling
These birds were also very far away from me. but you can still see the amazing metallic shine on their wings in the sunlight.

IMG_2066.JPGLesser Double-collared Sunbird

IMG_2072.JPG

IMG_2071.JPGBlack-headed Oriole

IMG_2081.JPGSaddle-billed stork

IMG_2083.JPGAfrican fish eagle

IMG_2089.JPG

IMG_2085.JPGMartial Eagle
This photo also is a bit out of focus but the heat was making so much interference and the Eagle was perched about 150m away

I hope that you enjoyed some of my photos as much as I enjoyed taking them.

Please follow me for more posts on the Kruger National Park and other animals I encountered and photographed. @rslabbert

Reasearch done from : NEWMAN's "Birds by color" book.
All photography are my own.

Member of Proudly South African Steemians(@psas). You can follow us for more truly South African content.

If you are from South Africa, you are more than welcome to join us at Discord. https://discord.gg/xRznW7S

Thank you
@rslabbert

Sort:  

Upvoted by Proudly South African Steemians(@psas). You can follow us for more truely South African content.
If you are from South Africa, you are more than welcome to join us at Discord. https://discord.gg/xRznW7S

Wide variety of birds. Really very nice

Thank you. It was a privilege to be able to photograph them all.

Lovely post and photos . I like the glossy starling a lot, never seen that before

beautiful pics :) goodjob

This is really an awesome post, not just with the images but the way you told your story and structured your post. Well done.

Thank you very much.I try my best deliver good quality content. Appreciate the comment.

Beautiful pictures and what a great diversity of birds! Seems like quite the adventure.

Thanks man. It is actually a privilege to live in such an animal rich country.

I love my birds like I love my coffee and ''Fork-tailed drongo'' is my bird now. I love it black. :D
Thanks man good post! :)

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it. I personally am a big fan of the Cape Glossy Starling, that color ! Thanks for your comment.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rslabbert from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

These are cool-looking birds. I would totally chase them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62