The Golden Beetle

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

One morning, while on holiday in the KwaZulu-Natal region of South Africa, I was sitting outside on the balcony having my usual cup of coffee. I was looking at the birds flying overhead, monkeys playing in the trees, scavenging Papayas from the local Papaya trees.

Goldbug img.jpg

While sitting doing my nature surveillance, something shiny caught my eye. Glistening in the morning sun like a drop of water trapped on a leaf. It had my attention for the moment and I stared at it intensely,

Then it moved!

My first thought was: “What trickery is this!” I didn't expect this glistening drop of water to move up the leaf.
I got up,then calmly walked over to the plant to assess my sanity.

IMG-20180128-WA0033.jpg

On the green potted plant I found this little guy sitting on the leaf. Glistening in the sun like a jewel of some sort. Bright golden colour with what looked like a see-through armour shield on its back.

This has been the very first time in my 30 year existence that I have come across this beetle.

INTERESTING FACTS ABOUT THE GOLDEN TORTOISE BEETLE
So naturally I researched a bit about this beautiful beetle and this is what I found:
Its name is The Golden tortoise beetle (Charidotella sexpunctata).
The Goldbug as it has been referred to can also change colour. Yes, you heard it here first, IT CAN CHANGE COLOUR! When disturbed the beetle can change from reddish-brown with black spots through gold, and often metallic.
It is found in sub-tropical to tropical regions.
IMG-20180128-WA0000.jpg

It was a privilege to find this beetle and to learn more about it.
I hope you enjoyed my post as much as I enjoyed finding this “Goldbug”.
Source of information:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Golden_tortoise_beetle
Member of Proud South African Steemians(@psas). You can follow us for more truely South African content.
If you are from South Africa, you are more than welcome to join us at Discord. https://discord.gg/xRznW7S

Sort:  

PSAS approved post.

Wow!! A golden beetle... I learnt something new today. Thanks for sharing :-)

I also learnt something new here, and I'm from South Africa :'D

It is a pleasure. I was also amazed when found it. I am very happy to be able to share it with Steemit!

Upvoted by Proudly South African Steemians(@psas). You can follow us for more truely South African content.
If you are from South Africa, you are more than welcome to join us at Discord. https://discord.gg/xRznW7S

What an interesting creature!

An interesting creature indeed! Thanks

What a totally different bug. Never been to Africa so kinda nice to see this. Thanks

It is only a pleasure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55