Red Ribbons, Photo Contests and Enjoying the Journey

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Shibuya-Crossing-Station-Fine-Art-Photography-Prints

Last year, I was surprised to get a 2nd place in our county fair photo competition with the photo above. You can read about that previous post here.

Feeling lucky, this year I decided to shotgun it and submit six images instead of one.

Well, no ribbons this year : ), but four of my photos were given honorable mentions to hang in the show.

This year, the competition had over 4000 photos submitted. So, it was nice just to be noticed.

There will always be next year and other ribbons. This is great motivation to work harder to improve my skills and keep enjoying this amazing journey.

Here are my four photos that made the cut for 2017:

New image for this blog: Imperial Palace, Tokyo Japan.

Imperial-Palace-Chiyoda-Tokyo-Fine-Art-Photography-Prints

Late-Date-Valentines-Day-Family-Fun-Photo

Ladybug Bokeh

Sunset for Zoey

Day 30 of 365 in a Newborn Baby's Life

Here's the daily portrait of the baby for future timelapse:

Thanks for following along with us.

Here are my last three posts just in case you missed it.

Harajuku-girls-fashion-style-Fine-Art-Photography-Prints

Follow me @runrudy

Late%20Date%20Steem%20Final%203-M.jpg

All images © 2017 Rudy Gonzales. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

wow, you are very talented. I need to improve my skills

Thanks alot @djohan! Have a great week!

Stunning pictures Cute baby Upvoted @runrudy visit me if u can when you free thanks alot have a nice day

These are awesome! Too bad you didnt get any ribbons but the mentions are amazing nonetheless

I'm am happy with the result. Ribbons are means you get contest money, mostly to pay back your entry fees, printing, framing costs. It gets expensive to do these shows. Maybe next year. Thanks @thephotoguide!

Ah i see...well too bad, cant win them all unfortunately!

totally, just cross your fingers and hope for the best.

Wow Rudy you take wonderful pictures they are all so beautiful congratulations!!💐💐

Awesome.

Thanks for sharing!

Congratz on the honorable mentions Rudy, still quite a feat!

Thanks @shieha. The two that didn't get to be in the show, I thought were really my best : ) it's all luck that you get noticed or even win anything.

Yeah and it depends on the judges too and their personal biases :)

Most your pictures are so impressive. If you don't get rewarded, I'll be suspicious of it. Keep working. Let me enjoy your work. :) @runrudy

Thank you @bontonstory. The winners were very deserving this year. I was very impressed with their images. I just have to keep trying and working harder. I am happy you like them. Cheers!

Stunning photographs. Your art nears perfection.

Thank you very much @dgiors. Sorry for the late reply but I did finally catch it. Have a great week.

Cool pictures! Ladybug and sunset are my favorites 8)
Wish you good luck next year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65