Photography Tips: EMPHASIZE your Subject using these UNIQUE Perspectives!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

EMPHASIZE your Subject using UNIQUE Perspectives

20171105_181034-02.jpeg

Hello guys! Raymund Bumagat here and today, I am going to share you some few techniques on how you can put more emphasis in your subjects naturally using unique perspectives.

But first. . .

Thank you for your Support!

Again, I would like to thank all of you by sparing your time reading my posts.

For the past few days, I am not very feeling well and it already became a fever.

I missed a Photowalk, my friend's Birthday, and I even missed posting here in SteemIt yesterday since I need to rest.

I woke up this morning and I am still having a light fever, I grabbed my phone to check the time and it is already 5:30 in the morning. Too many notifications catched my attention, notifications that I got from Instagram and Messenger. Few people just followed me in Instagram, liked my posts, and my fellow Steemian @legendarryll and @deveerei are congratulating me.

At first, I just dropped my phone and while I am trying to sleep again, I asked myself, why are they congratulating me, what have I done? All I can remember is me resting for the whole day and I don't even posted anything yesterday. ( at this very moment, I cannot think very well. I still feel dizzy ).

I decided to check again my phone for their messages and it surprised me.

My post about Chinese New Year just hit $100 upvotes here in SteemIt.

Wow! What?
I cannot believe that!
Me? My post? reached that kind of up-votes and people?( Special thanks to @curie ).
I don't even know what to do!
Man, I still cannot believe it up until now.

I am actually starting not to feel well while I am writing that blog, I didn't expect that this would happen, all I know is I am enjoying writing, tell stories, and sharing my photographs to people at the same time. Woohoo, I am super hyped!

I am feeling better right now yet still having a light fever, but no excuse, I will post a blogtorial for you guys and I hope that you will be able to use this in the future!

Let's Get Started!

DSCF3133.jpg

Frame your Subject using Objects

As you can see on the photo above, I am trying to take a picture of a restaurant's name and at the same time, frame it using the light bulbs.

Now, this is the usual perspective that most or some of us will do:

DSCF3146DSCF3146.jpg

Can you see the difference?

Can you tell which is better or not?

Not quite sure right?

Let me show you some set of photos:

DSCF3373DSCF3373.jpg

That photo is the usual perspective that we or some of us are going to do when taking a photo of a food / drinks.

Now, let me show you a perspective that I can do if I will frame my subject using objects:

DSCF3363DSCF3363.jpg

Now, can you see the difference?

Which is better? the 1st or the 2nd one that was framed?

Our opinions might be different from each other but for me, I think that the 2nd one is much better.

Why?

Because it was given more emphasis by being framed in the middle using a can of soda and a half glass of milk.

A mood was also added on the picture like it is some drink that you should choose or the drink that catches your attention. It simply attracts your audience.

Let's try to frame other subjects using objects:

DSCF3395DSCF3395.jpg

( This is a photo of chocolates, nuts and strawberries that are in the platter. )

Imagine if I took that shot from an eye level? Do you think that this image can be considered interesting or will catch audience's attention?

For me, if it was not framed, it will not be as interesting as it is and maybe for some critiques, it can be considered as a bad photo.

Try to Experiment

DSCF4009DSCF4009.jpg

( This is a photo of the nurses waiting for the green light so they can cross the pedestrian lane. )

As you can see, the nurses was not framed in the very middle. Instead, I have also used the pedestrian lane as a leading line to them to give them more emphasis.

Also, by the use of the frame ( which in this case are the men on left and right ) audience can also interpret another story of the picture.

It can be an image that shows how busy people are working in the city, how it feels to work in a city, rush hour feels or so..

Use anything that you can

DSCF2096DSCF2096.jpg

( This is a photo of the band LANY performing FREE in a mall. )

I don't have zoom lens with me so I used my girlfriend's cellphone as the main focus to tell a mood or a story since I cannot take a picture of the band in my situation.

DSCF2933.jpg

( I am trying to take a photo my of sneaker in a different way than usual. )

I used my 50mm f1.4 lens as a tool to emphasize and frame my sneakers and have a different perspective in capturing kicks.

Thank you!

Remember, try to experiment new things and don't limit yourself by just using objects. Keep Shooting!

That's it for me today guys! I hope that you liked it, I hope that you can use this technique that I am using to take unique photographs and give more emphasis to the subjects. This will also help photographers who doesn't have low apperture lens for depth of field or bokeh.

So! Hit that up-vote button, follow me if you haven't yet, and see you guys in the next posts!

rymndbmgt.png

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing these tips! I used to try to move everything out of the way, not seeing the value of 'obstructions' as part of the frame. The technique I was using was good for restaurant menus, not for creativity. I can't wait to visit another place for a food photoshoot!

You're very much Welcome sir, thank you for your time reading my posts. I already followed you. I will definitely wait for your food photos!

Thank you for sharing your tips on how to make a photo look more interesting. Using the depth of field also contribute's something more to the photo's too. Hope that you are feeling better now so that you can get back out there and share your wonderful photo's.

You're Welcome man and thank you for your time reading it. Yes! I actually forgot to mention that, see I am still sick lol. But depth of field or bokeh is not always applicable to everyone just in case they don't have any low apperture lens. This is something that they can use to give more emphasis.

Yes I am, thanks for caring man. Your photos are also looking good more and more!

You deserve it Raymund! Congrats and keep your tutorials coming. I'm learning a lot from you, so I want to say thank you.

Hello there @cestlag25, you're very much welcome! As I said I actually not expect that to happen, I am already happy when people are commenting in my posts, that means I caught their attention using my photos. Thank to you all! Surely I will, more tutorials soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49