Plougshare Snail: Stingy Lunch

in #photography7 years ago

Plougshare Snail: Stingy Lunch
IMG_2453_2.jpg
I came across two ploughshare snails feeding on a Blue Bottle while walking on the beach at Stilbaai, a small town situated in the Western Cape Province of South Africa.
IMG_2454.jpg
These snails are scavengers and can smell decaying food from afar. These snails are found on the West, South and East coast of South Africa. You will find them on sandy beaches and they are quite common. When the tide comes in they come out of the sand and use the waves to "surf" up onto the beach in search of food. They use their proboscis to suck up soft tissue from their prey. They particularly feed on stranded and dead jelly fish and blue bottles. On the two photos below you can clearly see the proboscis being used to suck up the food.
IMG_2456.jpg

IMG_2460.jpg
The video below shows the snail feeding, which you can see is quite hectic.

You can read more about the Ploughshare snail by clicking on the link.

I took the photos and video during my resent vacation at Jongensfontein, Western Province, South Africa by using my iPhone.

I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

Sort:  

What a strange colour.

To me it was quite interesting!!

Mysterious creatures of the nature..😊
Upvoted and cheers..

Always interesting.

Interesting !
Beautiful photos my friend !!

Thank you very much

You are welcome !

Perfect lunch isn't it? Nice photography~

For the snail, not for me!!

Hello @rynow,

Excellent photography & yes it looks like Stingy Lunch.

~@mywhale

Thank you very much.

@rynow - Oh my goodness Sir, it's a nice photography & video... Nice you decided to share them Sir...To get more audience, I wish to ReSteem your post.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

Thank you so much for the very nice comment.

Nice photos and video my friend

Thank you so much.

One does not realise how strong these snails can be. Thanks for sharing.

Yes, they are quite strong.


excellent photography & impressive work @rynow

@resteemia

One fast snail!!

thank

You are welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68208.95
ETH 3894.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69