My Homegrown Goji Berries ❤️

in #photography6 years ago

I am so happy with my homegrown goji berries. I planted them from seed four years ago and they have just started producing fruit last summer. The bush is quite huge now at just over two meters high, thick and spreading nicely. I have noticed how it has dispersed seed obviously blowing a few berries off the bush as I can see small goji plants popping up in the near vicinity too.
The berries are beautifully sweet. I had only ever eaten dried goji berries bought from online stores so to be able to pick and eat them fresh from the garden is a real delight.
I think the birds are eating some of them but
I feel inclined to share as long as I have enough to sprinkle into my fruit salads I shall be happy.

7FDE2B9C-7821-44EE-B915-B74F3D7F2728.jpeg

59095B48-7017-44F7-A275-AD01BB00EB82.jpeg

8E08D58D-0230-4C79-80C3-C01C4CE8A8DD.jpeg

43AC6CA3-D1C6-4547-9E2A-3692B20896F4.jpeg

Like most all red and dark red fruits goji berries have excellent health benefits including anti aging benefits, great source of anti oxidants, increase energy level, prevent growth of cancer, regulate cholesterol levels and contain significant levels of iron, copper, potassium, selenium, vitamins A and B2 and thiamine.

F37063FF-81EF-4FB7-BD3C-1302D4EC6A1E.jpeg

Thanks for checking out my post!

I wish you a peaceful, happy and prosperous day!

Namaste 🦋

Sort:  

Mind blowing photography my friend. I always like your brilliant photography.

That’s is so kind of you, thanks I really appreciate your support 🌈🦋🌴💛

Lucky you with your goji bush @sallybeth23 - like you say I've only ever seen them dried in health food shops, at pretty high prices! They must be much nicer when fresh. Mmmm what delicious fruit salads you must make! I want to grow my own gojis now!

Thanks so much for commenting @gardeningchef. I feel very lucky yes. 🦋🌈🌴💛

They have a powerful antioxidant action, that is why it is known as "The fruit of longevity"
Several studies show that they are adequate to reduce the harmful effects of chemotherapy and radiation, excellent post @sallybeth23

Thanks for your excellent comment 🍀🦋🌴💛

Hi Sallybeth,
Beautiful post - I love goji berries too - fantastically medicinal!
Awesome photography.

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Thanks very much for your support, yes they are delicious medicine!! Haha 🌈🦋🌴💛

Yummy!!!really nice cool pictures .. its always nice to see the grown plant by hand. Hope you enjoyed the fresh berries direct from the plant. Even bee knows the anti-aging factor of fruit goji berries . I think its a female :D .. nice sharing keep posting .💯 upvotes for this 👍

Thanks very much for your awesome comment and support. it is much appreciated! 🦋🌈💛🌴❤️

Wow how cool! Goji berries are delicious, but like you previously had, I've only ever eaten them dried and store purchased. I do like the dried ones but I can imagine I would love fresh ones even more so!

Fresh fruit / food is the best. Great to hear the berries are spreading:) In my Dads garden in Italy he has lots of hybrid trees growing, we have almond trees near other fruit frees, and we have plums tree branches growing out of the Almond trees vice versa! It is so crazy I didn't think it was possible

Thanks for your awesome comment ❤️ Yes fresh gojis are heavenly for sure. Wow your dads fruit trees sound fabulous!!! Yes it’s true people do a lot of grafting of one tree onto another these days. it works like a dream - if a little freaky haha

Yes this was all by accident, it just randomly happened to nearby trees that hadn’t been taken care of for ages, it was crazy. If I remember correctly one tree might have had 3 different types of nut/fruit growing ha! Crazy and funny stuff :) hope you have a great day 😀🌅❤️🌴

Wow totally random grafting is super freaky! Would love to see those! 🦋🌴🌈💛


Congratulations! Your post has been recommended by @freedomtowrite to be the Global Homestead Collective's promoted post of the day. We invite you to use our tag #ghsc! Come join us on discord!

https://steemit.com/ghsc/@ghscollective/today-s-promoted-post-sallybeth23-and-flemingfarm

Thanksvery much, that is awesome and much appreciated 🦋💛🌴🌈❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60853.02
ETH 2904.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62