The Magic of Long Exposure Light Painting

in #photography7 years ago

Light Painting can bring unique lighting effects to your photography.

This was my very first time attempting light painting indoors. I have to admit, I had a bit of a hard time with it! It’s pretty difficult to paint in the light exactly where you want it to appear in your final photo, while also remembering to leave shadows in all the right places. I accomplished most of these photos with a shutter speed around 15 seconds, f 8.0, and ISO 100, and I’m pretty happy with how they turned out given the hard time I had capturing them! Because these were all long exposure, a tripod was needed for all photos.

SARAH-RODEBUSH-light-painting-1-6-copy-625x417.jpeg

SARAH-RODEBUSH-light-painting-1-2-copy-625x417.jpeg

SARAH-RODEBUSH-light-painting-1-3-copy-625x417.jpeg

SARAH-RODEBUSH-light-painting-1-copy-625x376.jpeg

SARAH-RODEBUSH-Macro-1-copy-625x417.jpeg

SARAH-RODEBUSH-light-painting-1-4-copy-625x417.jpeg

If you’d like to see some amazing long exposure shots using light painting, check out Wex Photographic here:
http://www.wexphotographic.com/blog/tips-and-technique/painting-with-light-and-long-exposures/


All images were shot on my Canon Rebel T5 within the past year. These photos were taken directly from my website, sarahjanele.com. If you'd like to see my more in-depth writeup there, here is the link!

http://www.sarahjanele.com/using-light-painting-in-your-long-exposures/


Xoxo,
@sarahjanele

16797910_366802717035587_4515000207411482102_o.jpeg

Follow along for more photography, tips, tricks, travel, and more!

Sort:  

Like the new footer you added you should create a follow me GIF that would be something you could add in the future.

Great idea, @isaac.rodebush! I'll have to invest some time and do that one day soon. Everyone loves a good GIF.

You nailed it,
Nice photos!

Thank you so much! This technique definitely wasn't easy for me!

WOW! The typewriter and the fourth one down are stunning. Very impressive.

You picked up a new follower. I want to see more. Great job.

Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked those! Thanks for the upvote :)

you are more than welcome. Thanks for yours... lol it is worth a lot more than mine. But I try...

I concur. They have this very nice dramatic effect and don't look like just another light painting.

Very nice.

Thank you so much! :)

It looks amazing so amazing photos....
I also like taking photos, cant compete hehehe

So fun that you like taking photos too! I'd love to check out some of your work. I'll be sure to take a look at your profile :) Thanks for the upvote.

Excellent photography , like seeing originals (: upvoted

Thanks so much for the upvote! I really appreciate it and your kind words :)

Excellent write up on one of my favorite hobbies. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67