A Thursday Green Color Challenge and Macro Photography Crowning Achievement

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

When I moved into my loft, I got a lot of advice and help from a good friend who works in interior design. One thing he told me was to buy a plant for an empty space between my kitchen and living room. And he specifically told me to buy a fiddle fig because of how hearty they are (translation: you won't kill it). Full disclosure, I've never really had plants in my apartments over the years for a variety of reasons. But now that I actually bought a place, I wanted to try.

Life with the fiddle fig was great and added a nice touch, but I stupidly bought it 3 weeks before I knew I'd be leaving town for a month. Not smart. There was a small bud at the top starting to grow just as I left that I worried wouldn't survive. I had a friend water it once while I was gone, but when I got home, the little bud was entirely black.

Here's the great part. After a few weeks of proper care, a new bud has emerged from the dead black one! This may not be a big deal for most, but I am entirely excited by it. So for the Thursday Green #colorchallenge and for @juliank's #macrophotography entry, I'm submitted the new green bud from my fiddle fig!

IMG_3795.JPG

And for some perspective, here's a wider shot of the plant. You can see the dead black where the new bud emerged:
IMG_3797.JPG

It really is the small things in life that give great pleasure and joy!

Sort:  

It is nice to see a new bud forming on the fig plant that you have.

Thanks! I'm very happy about it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59