Walk with me ~ The Old City of Damascus, behind the Omayyad Mosque.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hey my friends,

I just wanna show you a small part of it, right behind the Omayyad Mosque. A part which I got to take a walk in just before I left Syria.

1.jpg

The streets of the old city is something that would be a part of your soul once you walk in them. I know no one who visited them and didn't fall in love with them...

P_20180211_170459_HDR.jpg

The beauty about the old city is the narrow alleys and the huge houses with their inside yards which are filled with plants and trees. So when you walk in those narrow alleys during winter, you'll get the smell of orange or lemon trees which is heavenly. While in summer, you'll smell the beautiful smell of Damascene jasmines, which is the most beautiful thing about Damascus.

See how it's coming down the wall like a waterfall of perfume?

P_20180211_170949.jpg

There is some other smell you would get while walking around here esp. in the afternoon. It's the smell of cooking! cuz of the narrow streets, it gets harder to not smell it. LOL My ex used to be very surprised with my ability to tell what dishes were being cooked and what ingredients were being used!

P_20180211_170610_HL.jpg

I don't know why someone wrote "ZORO" on the wall there!!

P_20180211_170703.jpg

Lots of people believe it's very hard to memorize all those streets cuz they look very similar. There is a neighborhood which is called "Where the monkey lost its kid" cuz even a smart monkey would get lost in those streets.
I never felt that way. I've always went into new streets and alleys to learn them but never felt "lost."

P_20180211_171046.jpg

I mean, just imagine living here, having this entrance only to your house. It's just amazing. Just imagine living in these old houses that are filled with the scent of history. Some of these houses are 200 years old if not more...

P_20180211_171318.jpg

P_20180211_171157.jpg

If you ever visit this city, and walk in these streets, you'll say the same thing everybody says: "A part of this city's soul is gonna be always within me. And a part of my soul will stay here when I leave."

I hope you enjoyed the walk. Much love and light.

DQmZ77atHZCWN2v4nEe4kwRy7SnoSWRtxsSy9X4nYbDtiqy_1680x8400.png

DQmSAGLT72TyuizDuJkseBoFKebjJietZpJD451oeZS8ZPf_200x200.png

Sort:  

I would love to get lost in there @scorpii! Thank you for this very unique tour...I want to smell those flowers and all of the food in real life one day!

There's no better feeling, you know. I know most of them alleys but I can go with you and act lost. ;) Then when we need to go back I'll lead you. There's nothing in the world like the smell of Damascene jasmines in the early evening.

I know most of them alleys but I can go with you and act lost. ;)

That would be perfect haha!!

Amazing how plants will still grow in tight quarters. Great post and beautiful pictures. I hope you get to go back to see your family soon when it is all calm and peaceful. <3

The architectural design of these alleys is amazing. No matter how narrow they are, most of them get enough sun and air!!

Thank you & I hope so, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73