Cats in a Cage

in #photography6 years ago

After my recent posts talking about my feeling regarding animals in zoo's I'd like touch on the subject once again.

Seeing large cats in cages is a very hard to see, as I grew up I watched tons and tons of nature shows, since I live in Canada the most played shows were Nature, David Suzuki's The Nature of Things, and Lorne Green's Wilderness. All of these shaped my childhood and helped me become the ocean and animal lover that I am today.

Tiger-2.jpg

As I stated in earlier posts seeing African/Tropical animals in the snow is very strange, please don't get me wrong I realize that certain Tiger species that live in Asia do reside in snowy areas. But for large tigers that are in cages in the snow in Canada is weird.

Tiger-1.jpg

Tiger-6.jpg

The more I think the more and more I feel conflicted about zoo's and what they are and what good they really provide. I must say I did have someone comment on my post about Gorilla's who is a zoo keeper and I really appreciated their comments and perspective.

Tiger-4.jpg

I think its really important to have dialogue about these issues.

Thanks for reading.

Scott

For more stories and images - http://www.scottstevensonphotography.ca/

Sort:  

beautiful shots!

Consider that places that are very arid often get quite cold at night. It snowed in the Sahara

I grew up on Mutual of Omaha's Wild Kingdom; I was transfixed to the screen for the short time my mother allowed it ;) I've also enjoyed all the shows you've mentioned too!

I also feel your conflict :( Exposure to animals can awaken something in a child, and not all families can afford to see the real thing in its natural habitat. Though many of us neglect our own back yards, when it comes to nature discovery. It's easy to take that which is all around us for granted :(

Tomás buenas fotografías

Every animal should be kept in an environment or area that mirrors its natural habitat, except the animal was raised in another area from birth. Probably the tiger was raised in snowy area from birth.
Thought provoking post, thanks for sharing

Hate this man. Hate the zoos, hate the captivity for fun. Hate the carnivals. Humankind is so arrogant. Always think of themselves and never mind of any other creature and its nature. Damn.

zoos are seldom just "for fun" they are generally involved in both research and conservation, the "zoo" near me is all rescued animals that were either injured or former pets. Have you been to one recently?

No, i rathet not. Because i just don't understand the concept and benefit of held captive to lions, camels, monkeys etc. They don't under danger of extinction. Yes, i love them to save the species nearly extinct because they have to. We made those animals to extinct afterall! As regards to research part, i don't believe researchers need to captive animal for this. No. They may travel their habitat and i bet get even more accurate data about them in there.

Maybe if you went to one you could ask the zoologists those questions, you know, those folks who have dedicated their lives and careers to caring for and studying animals.

hate him so much

someone on the other post suggested that it would have been better for you to go on safari to see that, why didn't you just go on safari?

I think that's a complicated issue, I believe I remember the comment from that post that you're talking about. I would agree with you in general. The other side of the coin is that not everybody has the money time Etc to be able to go on Safari to see these animals. I'm not saying that that justifies it. Just that it's complicated, because while I'm not a fan of zoos in general and they do give me conflicted feelings as well, I do see how they can have some value :/ :/

For me, to see any animal in a cage is unnatural. Ether wild or domesticated. These animals would roam for miles now they sit and pace for the amusement of man.

Wow theyre so beautiful!

It is heartbreaking and I feel that when we view animals as inferior to humans this is the outcome. Until we acknowledge their lives as cherished as ours, I am not sure this will end. Thank you for sharing.

#speciesism, until we as a species recognize that the other animals on this planet are here with us and not for us this will continue.

644107919655e75c5c8249693b65f569.gif

Exactly! Specisism won`t give us anything good for the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71