Pop can with Wings

in #photography6 years ago

What in the ocean is that thing? I tell my students after a dive that its a Winged Sea Slug. Sorry, what? Yes, that thing that looks like a pop can with wings, that is flapping madly through the water is a Winged Sea Slug; Gastropteron pacificum.

Winged Sea Slug-1.jpg

Pretty cool, isn’t it!

Winged Sea Slugs are found on the west coast of North America from Alaska to northern Mexico. Varying in depths from the intertidal zone to 425 metres.

These fascinating creatures propels itself through the water by gracefully flapping its "wings" (parapodial flaps). Not much bigger than a nickel, they can be tough to spot but once seen, their grace and flight through the water can be mesmerizing.

Winged Sea Slug-2.jpg

You’ll need a keen eye and a good macro lens to capture of these little guys. Be patient and wait for them to get into your viewfinder, then snap your images.

Winged Sea Slug-3.jpg

Thanks for reading.

Scott

For more stories and images - http://www.scottstevensonphotography.ca/

Sort:  

Amazing photographs good job man

Weird looking lol

The second I saw it I thought the same , but those "wings " are somehow beautiful

its a new thing for me, I never see Winged Sea Slug before and I bet it was not easy for you to capture this. a thumbs up and a resteem from my side to your hard work and dedication.

Your work is truly amazing

itz really good dear.. i also wrote a blog on natural beauty you must visit it and i hope you will enjoy.
https://steemit.com/beauty/@ajaydodeja/five-famous-and-beautiful-destinations-of-northern-areas-of-pakistan

The picture is really beautiful and very strange and should be well thought out

My first impression: What the heck is that?

Mind, it's beautiful. You're blessed to be in a position to experience such.

Wow, nice pics! Where did you take them? Can they be found all over or do they like to hang out in certain regions?

Something so small is something so beautiful, the ocean keeps a lot of mystery and wonderful creatures.

Thank you for sharing your photos, they were incredible. I appreciate your work. I give you my vote.

Really nice shots man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71