My Photo Was Licensed For Use In The Wall Street Journal!

in #photography5 years ago

Well, sort of... I received a text from a friend recently congratulating me on my Downtown Truckee photo making it into the Wall Street Journal. I texted back: WHAT?! I never licensed an image to the Wall Street Journal... At first, I was pretty upset and my first thought was to contact my copyright lawyer who I have unfortunately had to use a few times and I usually make a decent amount of $ when he goes to work for me. I don't like it when my images are used by businesses without permission and without properly licensing them for a fee. A lot of work goes into capturing images for my archive and I like to be compensated for my work when the images are used for commercial purposes or in publications.

I decided to do a bit of research before I contacted the lawyer and realized that I had licensed the same image to my local Chamber of Commerce for use on their website. So I contacted the Chamber and they were very apologetic. They realized that one of their new employees had provided the image to the Wall Street Journal without realizing that it had not been licensed to re-distribute it to other businesses or publications.

I will be getting paid for the image use so all is forgiven, no lawyer needed, and now I feel happy about sharing the Wall Street Journal story with you: Wall Street Journal story

wsj.jpg
source

I'm pretty stoked on this one. The image was also in the print version of the WSJ.



Thank you for looking and I hope you are having a great day too!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Sort:  

Congratulations 🎊 🍾: I love your photos!

A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's nice, right back at you. Thank you @amico!

congrats man.
i can imagine the "wow my photo is in Wall Street Journal" and "wait no one asked me if they can do it" dilema :D

Haha! Yeah, I wasn't sure whether or not to be honored or pissed off...

I believe you were Honoured enough to be pissed off!

Man you should have them contact the Wall Street journal to see if you can at least be credited for their online edition... Looks great though!

Fortunately I did get credited when the article was released online and in print, that's how my friend knew the image was mine. But I didn't initially get paid nor was permission asked, so that had me going...

Thank you!
Oh, and thank you for the resteem!

Hah! I can imagine Mr. Scott waking up during one morning, grabbing his coffee, opening the news paper and 'whaaaaaaaaaatha??' hahahahaha

Nice one, brautiful image!

Funny, not funny... Haha! Thank you!

@scottshots, thank you for sharing this interesting story with us. Anyway, congratulations!

Whooo hooo! That's an awesome shot. So happy to hear you got the credit, and the dough! So far the best I've done is to have one of my images used as click bait. I wouldn't even know how to see if I could get paid.

Thank you!
That sounds like it might be a hard one to collect on but here's my guy: https://www.linkedin.com/in/audren-tawaji-2b9117a5/

Thanks. I appreciate the info.

Awesome news, Scott, congratulations! I'd be over the moon about this!!! Beautiful photo, I can see why they picked it. U+R

Thank you @keithboone! It was a bit of an emotional roller coaster, haha! But all is good now and yes, I am over the moon indeed. Cheers!

Oh yeah, I would have been freaked out to think someone stole the photo, but in the end, you're getting paid, and now you're even more famous than before! :)

Yeah, getting images stolen is always a bummer.
I do like getting paid, haha!

Wonderful news, Scott! Literally 🙌🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahaha! Nice one :) Thank you Ken!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64