Travels Through Morocco - Chefchaouen the Blue Pearl, Chapter One

Words simply cannot describe the beauty of this place.

Hidden away in the Kif Mountains just a four-hour coach ride from Fes is the city of Chefchaouen. This was to be the highlight of the trip; this mystical, wonderful city with its walls, houses, pavements, everything covered in blue. I heard so much about this place from fellow travellers both outside of Morocco and during my trip, and I knew I had to come here.

Costing me only a very modest 80 Dirhams ($8.40), I took the earliest coach I could at 8:00am in the hope of spending the most time during the day in Chefchaouen. I heard stories of people getting a "Grand Taxi" there, but its only worthwhile when sharing a full taxi. As I was going it solo, I decided to take the coach, which was very comfortable with aircon, reclining seats, an onboard toilets, and can I just say one of the most beautiful views I've ever seen outside a coach. The green hills rolled for miles as we climbed higher into the Kif mountains, with shimmering blue lakes nestled in between the hills. I had quite a late night in Fes the previous night so I had planned to sleep on the trip, but the view wouldn't let me. Instead of resting, I found myself staring outside the window for the entire journey, fighting through the tiredness.

As I stared at the view, a glimmer of blue buildings was in view, hidden away within the rolling hills and next to an imposing mountain. As we got closer, the city was teasing me, showing bit by bit until it became clear that we had arrived. Finally - the city of Chefchaouen! I collected my bag and ran to the taxi rank like a little excited child, impatient to see the famous blue city and to be surrounded by it. The city was split into two parts, the modern half with the bus station and taxi ranks which was a plain white and some blue, and the old traditional city which was layered in a pure blue coating. Slowly, the taxi made its way through the tight roads, suddenly out of the blue (no pun intended) we were in the midst of the old city and I. Was. In. Awe.

190820181125467365457262800.jpeg

Blue as far as the eye could see. Blue pot plants. Blue walls. Blue arches. Blue houses with blue windows with blue stone staircases leading up to them. Even the ground was blue. I couldn't get enough, I was almost dizzy from the sheer beauty of it all. I walked through, eyes darting around because I simply didn't know where to look. I didn't even care where my hostel was. I was exhausted and drained from the trip carrying my rucksack through town but even so, all I wanted to do was explore this city forever, if I could. Even the prospect of peppermint tea couldn't hold me still - I wanted to walk, and walk, and walk.

Eventually I found my hostel and settled down as fast as I could. Even in my hostel was a tide of blue, even my room was blue!! My hostel was called Dar Antonio which literally translates to Antonio's House in Arabic (please correct me if I'm wrong!!). I met with the owner, Antonio, and he told me of a view of the whole city which is breathtaking at sunset - the Spanish Mosque. That would that evening's exploration, and you won't believe how gorgeous it is. Stay tuned for my next post! <3

Chefchaouen the Blue Pearl, Morocco


190820181105469925983684122.jpeg

190820181123467364058200878.jpeg

190820181129467369191552528.jpeg

Shared from Lightroom mobile 5.jpg

190820181104469924246016777.jpeg


Details
🌏 | Chefchaouen, Morocco
📷 | Samsung S8 and Canon SX730 HS
🎨 | Lightroom Mobile edits used


Over the next few weeks I'll be trekking through Morocco and I'll be share with you my thoughts, feelings, tips and warnings about visiting each place along the way. Being a photographer, I will be doing this while sharing my photos with all of you too! I sincerely hope you all enjoy.

Please do follow if you want to keep up with my travel through this wonderful country <3

Any upvotes or reblogs are hugely appreciated! Much love, everybody.

Sort:  

Really great article, wonderful pictures and I am proud for being Moroccan.

Glad to hear that from a Moroccan! Honestly, thanks for having me guys :D

You're welcome my friend anytime, visit us again soon.

A place full of colorful buildings!

Yeah its gorgeous, right??

Love the blue alleyways! Very cool.

It was pretty cool (cold) indeed!

Muy buenas fotos de verdad que me gustaron los paisajes y la exactitud con la que fue tomada muy limpia y cero detalles gracias por compartir.Slds

照片色彩斑斓,你是用什么相机拍的

你好 @grayheaven 他使用了三星S8和佳能SX730 HS。

谢谢你的回答,拍的挺好看的,很有艺术感…

不客气我的朋友,是的,它是。

would not be a bad idea if I could avail myself an opportunity to see this sight.
beautiful city it is

You're most welcome my dear to visit Morocco anytime

Not a bad idea at all!!

Posted using Partiko Android

No idea what this means but thanks! :P

Just translated from Chinese - "The photo is colorful, what camera did you use?" Well @grayheaven for this particular one I simply used my Samsung S8! :)

拍的很好看

Wow! The color and composition of the photograph seem to look like a magazine. The impression and the scene of the vivid trip are felt. I am impressed !!

Thanks so much, my friend! Your kind compliments mean a lot to me, and are a huge reason why I do this :) Glad to have you on the trip!

What an incredible looking place, and thanks for writing it so, well you pull us right in there plus with the excellent photography. Well appreciated, look forward to the next install!

Thanks for the kind words! Happy to keep you guys updated!

morocco is wonderful place to visit,It can get pretty cold at night in the Riff mountains,The blue is meant to represent peace, safety and the power of heaven and colourful buildings looking photography it is looking nice good work on it thank u for sharing

photography

Yeah I heard it can get quite cold, and there's no heating either! That's amazing, well whatever it represents it looks stunning. Thanks for stopping by.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57