I <3 BERLIN! Especially by night...

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Dear family,

first: How are you guys doing?
I'm actually really good.

Why, u ask?
I can tell u.

It's because of little but important things happining right now.

#1: I am healthy.
#2: I have good people around me.
#3. I have lost 16 pounds in 30 days.
#4. I like my work more then before in the last weeks.
#5. I just am who I am, authentic and not fake. This feels really good.

Remember what you have. Not, what you not have.

And now let me invite you to join me on my trip through Berlin last night (June 12th 2018).

We will start with a sad one.
I think it's important to keep in mind what happened on December 19, 2016 @ Breitscheidplatz.
A guy stole a truck from a polish driver and drove through a bunch of people having a good to time at the famous Christmas Market. This insane incident killed 11 people, injured 55 people and before this he killed the truck driver.
IMG_20180612_214530.jpg


I totally love this cinema. It is placed on the opposite side of the street from the story before. Built in 1957 it is the most beautiful cinema in Berlin. Inside you will find the most comfortable chairs you have ever placed your b*** in. The oval ceiling with the nice little spot lights in it is just pretty. There is a big film Festival called "Berlinale" where you can watch new movies all around the cinemas in Berlin. Avantgarde, art, short films any many more. But the Zoo Palast is called the main or centre cinema concerning the Berlinale.
IMG_20180612_214844.jpg



Do you ever heard about "Christiane F. – Wir Kinder vom Bahnhof Zoo"?
It's a movie made in '81 and it shows the life of very young drug addict. Drama and biography at the same time. Most outdoor scenes were made at the area shown on the picture. Berlin Zoologischer Garten. Today a nice and charming tourist point. In the early eighties it was a really bad area full of crime, prostitution and of course lots of drug addicts on the streets. When I first saw the movie, with the age of 15 when I remember right, I was shocked to be honest. Nevertheless I can suggest this movie to you guys.
IMG_20180612_215723.jpg



Word by word translation is: Triumph pillar. But that sounds awful. So let's say it right: Siegessäule. Why is it here? It was built as a reminder of the win of 3 wars. 1st, Preußen won the German Danish war 1864, 2nd the German war against Austria and 3rd the German/French war 1870/71. That is why it originally was built with 3 segments. Later on the was set a 4th segment to keep in mind the Sedanschlacht in 1940.
Do you guys know that the Siegessäule was set up in front of the Reichstagsgebäude and later moved to where it is right now @ Großer Stern?

IMG_20180612_222956.jpg



Here you can see the Reichstagsgebäude. in front of this building was the Siegessäule 1st set up like I told you before. What is happening in this house today? In this house is the German Bundestag and the Bundesversammlung on special dates located. It's a kind of importent government thing in Germany. Too much for this post. Built in 1884/94 bei Paul Wallot in the Neorenaissance style.
IMG_20180612_223644 (1).jpg



Paul-Löbe-Haus.
Like the Reichstagsgebäude this is a building for the goverrnment and the politicians as well but more as a kind of working space with hundrets of offices. That's where the politic is made. I think I can say it like this.
IMG_20180612_224916 (1).jpg



Schweizerische Botschaft (Embassy of Switzerland)
To be honest: I love Switzerland. That's the only reason why this building is part of this post.
But another reason is that I find it, let's say, interesting, that the embassy of Switzerland has no security at all. We have lots of emabssies here in Berlin. Most of them has fences and gates and stuff. But Switzerland? No. Not all. I like that.
IMG_20180612_225401 (1).jpg



Berlin Central Station
What you see is exactly what I wanted to create. This is not a mistake. It looks like overexposed. Yes. That's what it used to be. I wanted to create a kind of unreal situation @ night, normally dark. But it's the opposite. Almost no one there. No movement, no trains. Just IT. Maybe u understand what I mean and what I felt this moment.

IMG_20180612_231206.jpg

Sort:  

Schöner Beitrag 👍

Dankesehr. Schönen Tag, Herr Lex.

Congratulations @sekto! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60