Please Help Our Beloved Kitty Feel Better @senseicat

in #photography6 years ago

This is a favorite sleeping pose for my kitty. He has been suffering from cat acne and eye infection as well as battling upper respiratory these past few months.

Thus far, I have changed out his food bowl from plastic to ceramic, brushed his cat acne with antifungal and antiseptic shampoo, antibiotic eye ointment, acne pads, and even introduced a more expensive kitty food.

The vet has given him 3 rounds of antibiotics for the upper respiratory during the same time. He continues to seem lethargic and I know he is under some stress with having added a new kitten to our household. All of these symptoms began after we introduced our Satoshi who arrived with an upper respiratory infection, dirty, HPV, and a flea attached.

All kitties are now receiving a dab of lysine on their noses for the HPV.

Both of my older kitties, age 5, have been in excellent care prior to us adopting/rescuing our youngest kitten.

I even tried to give him some warm bone broth soup and he was disinterested unfortunately.

sweet kitty.jpg

Please let me know if you have any suggestions to improve my kitty's health @senesicat

Sort:  

Sorry your kitty is sick. If none of everyone else’s suggestions work, try straight tuna or any kind of fish or chicken to see if he’ll eat. Hydration is important especially if he’s not drinking as well. A trip back to the vet might not hurt either. Praying for a swift recovery. These little guys are family and it’s always hard when they’re sick. 😔

Have you changed cat litter? A lot of cats can have a reaction to the dust or perfume in the litter it can cause respiratory problems. The lungs can be a weak spot, i lost my 5 year old to a respiratory infection a few years back even after repeated rounds of antibiotic. 😟

I emptied out the litter and did a thorough cleaning, but I will go ahead and change to a new brand to see if that helps. Thank you very much for the suggestion. Our current one is the least expensive off brand with no perfumes, but I am willing to go the distance for our precious kitties.

It is worth a try, i also empty the water bowls and clean them every morning. They even get filtered water although they would drink from the faucet ( if i didn't keep telling them NO! :) ) Take care of them and let us know how it is going they are precious!

Try moist canned fish cat food, the protein is lower but the moisure is good. Don’t think twice about going back to the vet respiratory problems can be serious

Hi @senseicat sorry I don't check my mentions often, it sounds like he has either having a flareup of existing latent herpes due to stress or he has gotten herpes from the new kitten and that can take a very long time to clear. Research has not shown that lysine definitely helps but the dose should be 500mg per day, not just a dab. Lysine didn't help my cat much, I recommend that you discuss putting them on Famciclovir with your vet

So sorry to hear this @senseicat.

If he is clear of fleas, it's clearly not a severe allergy to flea saliva. The fact that he's not interested in food is troublesome... or IS he eating? Is he using his cat box normally?

As far a "very clean" food, you might also try chicken baby food; that helped one of our stressed out cats once.

@nikv, I don't know if you check "mentions" but you know a LOT about cat health...

=^..^=

Dear @curatorcat, Thank you so much for the suggestion of baby food to see if that helps. He is stressed and has always been timid in personality along with a sensitive tummy and skin. Luckily, he sheds very little because he will not allow me to brush his fur.

I hope he gets better... stress and "changes" can be very hard on some cats. It's just like humans, some cats are very "delicate" in their dispositions while others are very robust. I don't remember how long ago little Satoshi joined the household, but it can take a sensitive cat several months to adjust to a kitten...

=^..^=

Hi @curatorcat. Not as much as I probably should

I would pray to God for your kitty !

This is one of the domestic animals I love the most.
I pray for quick recovery #Kitty

You can try colloidal silver for the eyes. I have use that and it cured my kitty's red eyes that was infected.

I don't think your kitten has HPV. HPV is only human contracted virus that causes warts. HPV stands for Human Papilloma Virus.

The Acne is probably not acne but a mild case of mange or a scabies that is the cat form that is known as Mange. Mange can also create wart like appearances on the skin.

You can mix catnip with oregano and see if your cat will munch on the oregano to cure the lung infection.

Hi, I hope your cat is better, it's really sad when that happens, my girlfriend and I have 3 cats now and when one of them is sick we try to give them a lot of love, we have also rescued them and they like to sleep together.

IMG_20180705_095341_resized_20180705_100003678.jpg

You are taking great care of your cat... The cat is very cute...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85