Memories: The Gilchrist Park Tree

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Gilchrist Park, Punta Gorda FL

I took this photograph the day my grandmother died.

I was visiting my paternal grandmother in a Charlotte County nursing home in January of 2016 as a resut of accelerated deterioration of her health due to liver failure. The morning she passed, my Aunt and I received "the" call.

I've never been one to focus on the bad things. I knew that stopping her death was out of my hands, so I made a promise to myself that I would spend the time I had in Florida reliving memories I had made with her and my grandfather.

Of the many locations I visited and people I spoke to, the most meaningful and memorable of all was the Gilchrist Park, a park that my grandparents had brought me to hundreds of times when I was younger. I spent countless hours playing with my siblings and friends in this remarkably beautiful tree that found its home in the center of the park.

I was lucky enough to snap this photo and have cherished it ever since.

I edited the photo and my Aunt had the edited version framed. This is one of my most treasured possessions.

Sort:  

Sir

Thank you for the heartfelt post.

We are kindred spirits.

Since ancient times until today, many believe that no one actually dies if at least one person on his plane remembers them.

Now, one more person - me - is thinking about your grandmother...

Namaste,

JaiChai

This was extremely kind of you to write. Thank you so much for the wonderful thoughts.

My pleasure.

Do stay in touch.

Namaste,

JaiChai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68