Basel to touchsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

IMG_1753.jpg

Greetings Steemians!


If one strolls through the Swiss Rhine metropolis Basel there is always a lot to discover. Basel's public space offers a plethora of interesting installations. One of them is a palpable city model. Conceived as a city model for the visually impaired, it also offers the sighted a peculiar experience.

IMG_1747.jpg

The model shows a section of Basel's Old Town in a scale of 1:500. The clou is, the model can immediately be aligned with reality by just looking across the Rhine. So you can let your eyes wander over Basel's Old Town and at the same time trace it's profile with your fingertips. It's really something special to experience.

Informational text and a legend for the individual buildings is stamped on the model's surface, both in letters and braille.

IMG_1748.jpg

Not the least, the direct juxtaposition of model and reality also offers interesting photographic perspectives:

IMG_1772.jpg

IMG_1778.jpg

IMG_1741.jpg

Thanks for watching and 'til next time!

Shaka


All photos were recorded by myself with an iPhone 6S.

Sort:  

Is ja mal cool 👍

Tolles Wetterchen erwischt - Da können die Fotos nur gut werden... - sogar mit einem iPhone ^^

Swiss cities are so beautiful. I've been living here for almost 8 years and I have visited Basel just once. And it was just a quick visit so I didn't get to see a lot. The model looks very detailed. I can imagine looking at it and trying to find the real buildings :) Must be very satisfying when you find them :) Thank you for sharing!

Das ist ne Klasse Idee. Sogar meine kleine Heimatstadt hat so ein Miniaturmodell.
Wobei das bei weitem nicht so toll gelegen ist. Die Idee dahinter ist aber ziemlich cool. Ich frage mich, ob sich das so weit rumspricht bei den Stadthaltern oder ob das eine Initiative ist.

It should be impressive to see and compare the model on a small scale and the real view... Now imagine the emotion of a person with visual impairment to be able to touch and that in his mind he can imagine the view is incredible.

Love the angle of your photography @shaka! How considerate to provide the braille model

Sounds like a great concept. I haven´t seen anything like this yet. Just those models (or 3D captions) that you sometimes have at observatories and lookout spots that gives you a better idea of what you are looking at in the distance. Basel must be a cool city :)

Nice photography and great description, this is what your posts always bring to us. Dear @shaka I thank you for this nice post. You always inspire me to travel all around the world. Unfortunately, I don't have enough money to fulfill my dream but I am hopeful that I'll be successful to fulfill my dream.

Well i visited Basel 7 years ago with my grandparents you remind to me such good memories..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71