Dark Red Leaf

in #photography5 years ago

Hi Steem friends,

Today I'm sharing a photo that I took today while I was on my university campus. As with many other universities, our campus has a "Green Society" dedicated to spreading knowledge and awareness of environmental issues as well as encouraging participation of students in adapting healthy "green" habits in their daily lives.

Today they were holding an event in which students could stop by and take a free plant which they could then take home to care for. This is a wonderful opportunity for many students who may not have previously had a plant. Additionally, the plants that were being given away were all of a pretty small size, so this will make them easier to care for, especially for beginners or those without much space where they live.

Since I very recently purchased several new plants for myself, I didn't bother taking a free plant today. I did spot this very interesting one though. I'm not sure what kind of plant this one is, but the deep red leaf combined with the stalk emerging from the center really caught my eye! Does anybody out there know what kind of plant this is? I'd really like to know!

IMG_20190510_144358.jpg


This photo was taken using the Google Pixel 2

Thanks for taking the time to check out my post!

Please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me if you'd like to see more content like this from me in the future!
@shawkr13

Sort:  

I love it! Awesome ideas to take care our planet. The plants seek fresh any ambient :D This plant is tradicionally named "Cala Flower" in my country Venezuela, but I can say that its genre is cientifically named "Zantedeschia" Wikipedia. This colour is specially beautiful and deep. Generally I see white flowers of this kind. They're gorgeous! 😍

Very cool - I appreciate the info! I definitely haven't seen any of these outdoors in Canada but I'm sure plenty of people keep them as indoor plants where it is usually much warmer.

Hi, @shawkr13!

You just got a 8.22% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You got a 2.65% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @shawkr13!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81