Photography: Zakopane - Poland

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

zakopane collage.jpg
Hi Steemlings

Given it's well into winter down under and the last few days have been miserable wet and above all chilly, I started reminiscing about spending (my) winters travelling in the summer of the northern hemisphere.

However even then we had some massive extremes going from sweltering 40 degree (100 for all the farenheiters) days in Rome to bone chilling cold up in Poland - I'm talking gloves, beanies and ski jacket - and lots of vodka shots!

So today I'm going to share some photos from Zakopane - at the foot of the Tatra mountains. Enjoy!

divider.png

Zakopane is a town in the extreme south of Poland. It lies in the southern part of the Podhale region at the foot of the Tatra Mountains. Zakopane is known informally as "the winter capital of Poland.” I totally see that even in the middle of July!

Tatra Mountains reduced.jpg

divider.png

Wandering through the forests around the town as we walked to the town center from our homestay, there are plenty of trails to explore, creeks and even statues.

Zakopane reduced.jpg


Statues in Zakopane reduced.jpg

divider.png

A popular tourist activity is taking a stroll through the town's most popular street: Krupówki, it is lined with stores, restaurants, carnival rides, and performers - and cheese - lots of cheese!

Cheese is the one food in the world I can't get enough of…so I just loved Zakopane - everywhere you look is Oscypek a hard smoked sheep's milk cheese, which you could buy in every form you could think of. Conveniently I was able to get it in small mouthsize disks - perfect for hassle free cheese snacking!

Oscypek Zakopane reduced.jpg

divider.png

The other food that stretches as far as you can see is pork knuckles. And who doesn't love some crispy pork washed down with a beer!

Pork Knuckles Zakopane reduced.jpg

Dinner in zakopane reduced.jpg

beer in zakopane reduced.jpg

divider.png

Zakopane is a great place to rug up and get out with the camera and explore - would really love a few more days there!

LocationZakopane, Poland
CameraSamsung NX300
LensSamsung 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 ED OIS
FiltersBower Pro dHD UV / PL
EditingAdobe Photoshop CC

divider.png

My beautiful UpCats were designed by the one and only beautiful @ryivhnn and are based on my beautiful Ava the Princess Cat

If you enjoyed this post don't forget to UPVOTE and Hit that FOLLOW Button!

Let's All Share the Steemit Love!

Don't forget to come check out the teamaustralia tag and see what exciting things we are all up to in the land of Oz! It's full of Aussies and Aussie-lovers with great stories from when we are at home or loose in the world!

Thanks to @bearone for creating my beautiful teamaustralia banner which I love sooooo much! Don't forget to check out her posts and show her some love as well.
divider.png

You can find this, and other exciting adventures from some great travelling Steemians at Steemit Worldmap

!steemitworldmap 49.299181 lat 19.9714707 long ZAKOPANE - D3SCR

Sort:  

Looks like another cool place you've visited, Shelly.

cold not cool lol! Sorry I don't know how vegans would go.. it was all cheese and meat.. you'd have to stick to the vodka!

You intrigued me enough to search it on happycow. No dedicated veggie restaurants, but there's options. https://www.happycow.net/europe/poland/zakopane/

vegetarian there probably means you eat chicken!

I confirm that it is a beautiful location If come back to Europe again hope you will visit the southern part of Poland @choogirl

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=shellyduncan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=photography-zakopane-poland


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

SHELLY WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN!?

When did you go to this place? It'so green it's glowing :O And that's a terrifying amount of meat XD

goatsig

that's cause it rained.... a lot! We went as part of our big trip in 2012 - i'm living vicariously through my own past hehehe plus I still haven't sorted all of the 50,000+ photos I took.. thanks god for digital cameras

Good to see back! I am so hungry all of a sudden...

for crispy pork belly maybe? :)

Beautiful place and beautiful photos! I'm going to Poland myself in few months and I'm now looking forward to experience those beauties! Thanks!

Enjoy! I hope it's not too cold for you :)

No problem, I did experience cold already... Say, I've read you an avid reader. Do you only read books or ebooks as well? I have lots of tittles of Sheri S. Tepper, James P. Hogan, Robert Heinlein and other I would be glad to share! :)

I do read both.. Heinlein I have to admit I found a struggle. I'm more into fantasy than Sci Fi especially the epic stuff like Robert Jordan, Raymond Feist, Terry Goodkind, Steven Erikson.. only problem is the series go on.. and on.. and on.. and.. well you get the point lol

I believe you will like Sheri S. Tepper's books then. If you have email or whatsapp I can send the .pdf files. Let me know either through [email protected] or +55.11.9.8955.9608. :)

Heya, I'm just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

I have been Zakopane it is a beautiful location..... I miss oscypek.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55