Hotel Basics

in #photography5 years ago

When travelling around it’s important to look out for the possible caveats that a traveller might fall into. Going on holiday is supposed to be a relaxing and joyous occasion either solo or with close ones. However, without proper planning and research, things can go the completely opposite way without prior notice. I know this from a previous experience when I have stayed in a less than desirable location and venue. Some people may not think it to be true, but hospitality goes a long way in making a stay pleasant. It’s easy to get burnt out from the daily touring and activities. The last thing on my mind is to think about whether my belongings are safe or if I need to be watchful for anything that requires attention.

When planning a trip away I will go to great lengths to study the locations I will be visiting. I read over as much crowd sourced information as possible to get a real insight into what to look out for and avoid. Various Chinese apps, forums and other social sites are stacked with reviews. This, in addition to the usual sites that the international scene uses have saved me on multiple occasions. There is nothing worse than falling for the typical tourist traps that are abundant on travels. Reviews with greater volume are often telling of what awaits on the other side.

When looking for a hotel, I tend to focus on the macro basics that make up a great establishment. Communication, location, facilities and room space are probably the most important things I look out for. Housekeeping is also very important to me and I will read much into the reviews regarding hygiene and cleaning schedules. A clean environment is most important to me and it often impacts my entire trip if things are disorderly.

Aside from the bigger things to look out for, it’s always interesting to check in and look around for the smaller things that make up a hotel stay. Complimentary drinking water, minibar, safe storage and so much more can make up a most hospitable stay. The better hotels I have stayed in have always been very hands on with their hospitality and sending a quick enquiry email is often telling of the care that one will receive as a customer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95