Tibetan Harmony and Society part 1

in #photography5 years ago

Architecture in Tibet is a fascinating part of the country that I came to acquaint myself with over the days that I spent there. Much of my exploration of the culture involved understanding more about society and the various influences that were present. Religion covered a great part of my exploration and I got to learn much about the forms of Buddhism followed here. Tibetan Buddhism has influenced much of the architecture in the country, carrying hints of Nepalese, Indian and Chinese influence. I began to notice many different pictures, architecture and other features that were in most temples that I visited. The prayer wheel for instance is a cylinder made from metal or other material, featuring patterns on its exterior with scriptures marked on them.

They were present in all temples that I visited during my trip and carry specific meaning. The wheels are sued to procure knowledge and good deeds that will help increase good karma and dissipate any negative energies. While travelling to the various monasteries and temples, I noticed that many of them were built on planes of elevation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95