I've just gone and checked out more of their work and it's all exceptional. I love the dramatic silhouette and appreciation of the sky

in #photography6 years ago

Beautiful. Is there a particular reason you chose Tikehau over, say, Bora Bora or Mo'orea? Price? Dive sites? (I've visited all the island groups of FP except Tuamotus and Marquesas.)

1.PNG

Holy shit! That image reminded of the japanese movie 'Your name' (dont remember the japanese name, kimi no na wa?). And I found in the comments that she made the drawing after she saw the movie! Something mildly interesting I guess..

I took a closer look after I posted and the powerlines really stood out. I think you might be right - I grew up in a very rural area and now have lived in a big city for years, so powerlines are something it would make sense for me to associate with childhood/memories. It's definitely not just the powerlines (it's the lighting, too, and, well, everything) but they did trigger something in my mind when I went back to look again.

Edit: I see the artist is Ukrainian - I am in Canada, and I grew up on the flat northern prairies (where, incidentally, we were taught in school that a lot of Ukrainians moved to because it reminded them of home), so I wonder if we just have similar landscapes buried in our formative memories?

Weird because I am generally not into or knowledgeable about this kind of music but it was playing in someone's car and I was just grabbed instantly, and sort of flooded with a strange emotion of childhood nostalgia even though I had never heard the song before and was not connecting it with any specific memory or moment from the past.

I was about to post this but you hit the nail on the head. It really is so evocative.

Actually, I've just gone and checked out more of their work and it's all exceptional. I love the dramatic silhouette and appreciation of the sky with the reflection almost a submission of how much more beautiful the sky is compared to our world. Stunning.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59