Combining Two Passions - Cars and Photography

in #photography6 years ago

Hello everyone, let's pick up where we left of.

Photography has been my companion for a while now. I want to say my whole life, and I wouldn't be lying, but let's go back to where it all started. On the race track!

Yes! My father and his brother were famous race drivers in our country (Yugoslavia), and we made each race a family event. How? My mother was always supporting my father, so much so that she would take me and my sister to every race. I loved it from the start, the crowd, the cars, adrenaline and victory, celebrations and photos.

DSC_5694.jpg

This was taken by my uncle, and I think he was one of the reasons I went into photography myself. He always had some camera on him, and patiently waited for the opportunity and that great shot. He taught me a few tricks I use to this day.

DSC_5691.jpg

image-0-02-05-5ab050c3d82c2d9b6fb0f0e09c6e3d6a1ed9fe3734166c2db85bacb6f3a76229-V.jpg

One thing led to another, and I got my first camera just to take photos of the races. I found it challenging, and at the same time very interesting. Cars are in constant motion, and you have to practice your eye and your mind, to catch that special moment, and make history. I started attending races even if my father wasn't driving, and tried to take amazing and risky photos.

DSC_7769.jpg

DSC_0827.jpg

DSC_7762.jpg

DSC_5490.jpg

When I got better equipment, and some more practice I wanted to see the world, and what it had to offer. Naturally, first stop had to be near, so I opted for Hungary. That is an amazing experience, and some great photo opportunities.
Race cars were familiar to me, but I think I found my new love in formula cars and races then, nothing comes close.

Hungaroring_08032010-204.jpg

Hungaroring_08032010-218.jpg

Hungaroring_08032010-227.jpg

Hungaroring_08032010-296.jpg

Hungaroring_08032010-112.jpg

Hungaroring_08032010-28.jpg

Hungaroring_08032010-87.jpg

My love for photography and races grew only bigger over time, and I wanted to watch F1 in Monaco. It was more than I hoped for, the sound of the engines is something that photos can't catch, but something I will never forget. Photography became a source of creativity and relaxation once I got a hang of it.

DSC_8874.jpg

DSC_8879.jpg

DSC_8935.jpg

DSC_8370.jpg

DSC_8337.jpg

Formula Renault

DSC_8827.jpg

DSC_8971.jpg

DSC_8843.jpg

Porsche Supercup

DSC_9508.jpg

DSC_9457.jpg

DSC_9419.jpg

DSC_9410.jpg

This was a shorter version of my evolution as a photographer. I later got into lot's of different directions in photography, landscapes, portraits, animals, street-photography, but to be honest I think that cars were my initial inspiration.

What do you think? Have you ever been to a race?
All photos are mine, and all comments are welcome!

Best regards,
Janos

Sort:  

Its nice to find someone else who enjoys racing and Formula cars. Everyone in the United States knows about Nascar, but few know about Formula one. I myself have raced go karts and was a mechanic for my brother. In 2009, My brother raced along side Michael Schumacher. We both got our shirts signed that year. I also have done motorsport photography for a while too. I enjoyed the post and gave you a follow. Can not wait for more posts by you in the future!

Thanks for leaving one great comment and follow!
That sounds like such an amazing experience!

I used to race small 50 cc motorbikes once and had a load of fun doing that; not been to many car races though

Yes, that's a lot of fun too!
Thank you for reading and commenting!

Beautiful pictures! I’ve never met racecar drivers from other countries, I know a lot of NASCAR drivers from the US. I used to race myself! I’m looking forward to more posts! You have a gift!

Thanks,
NASCAR and INDYCAR series are definitely a lot of fun to watch and I guess even more to drive. I hope Ill have opportunity to visit one such event.

Great story. There is no better race then Nacionalna klasa :) it is like mix of destruction derby and normal racing.

Thanks for comment. Indeed it had a lot of elements of destruction derby. Fortunately (in my opinion) it's getting more regulated and looks more and more like proper racing.

will post a video later of race on Usce last year, they are pretty crazy still :)

those are some really nice shots. i am going to follow you in hopes of the same in the future. if you want to check out my blog i have quite a bit of car and racing stuff on there also. More will be added as our race season starts in the spring.

Thanks, followed you back. Saw your post from two days ago. Nice car. I'll look for sure through your posts. I watched some Baja 1000 race on TV I guess it's similar championship to one you are driving. We don't have any off-road races here only track, hill climb and rally (also go kart and recently few bike races held on local race tracks).

thank you. it is actually a circle track car but it is on dirt instead of asphalt. It is pretty big business really, nascar is even trying to get in on it and they have added a few dirt events last year.

Very good, petrolhead detected, motorsport life

Awesome post! I invite you to visit our blog and vote us back! And of course to enjoy our content :)

Thanks I will check your blog.

Hi my name is Jerome. I am giving away 0.500 SBD for signing up to this ICO

After you have completed you will recieve your reward

Hiciste un buen trabajo en tu post! me gusto mucho. Hermosas fotos.

Congratulations @siklosi, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 14329 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3412.27. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87