Inside the fortress

Happy Sunday to you all! Today I want to take you inside one of the beautiful place t visit in my city (Pistoia, Italy): the ancient fortress of Santa Barbara!

It's a 14th century fortress, built to guard our town and tha name "Santa Barbara" is because Saint Barbara is the patron saint of the  artillerymen (and miners too). The oldest part of the fortress was built in the 1331, when the Florentine Republic had the power over my city, but the building was enlarged just in the 1531.

Even if it could seems a castle, this building was just for defences and, for a short period, as jail.

 I'm proud to say that after more than 600 years (and a lot of wars), this fortress is well preserved and a very important part of our history. 

Today there was a special event inside the fortress: a medieval re-enactment! People in beautiful ancient costumes was there and along the streets of the city for all the day.

I really think the fortress is the perfect place for a similar re-enactment ^_^

I hope you appreciated this virtual tour inside our fortress!

See ya soon and steem on,

Silvia


silvia beneforti


***If you like my artworks, you can find them on my online shops on Artfinder ( https://www.artfinder.com/silviabeneforti#/ ) and on Etsy ( https://www.etsy.com/shop/vumap ).  If you're interested to buy one of my artworks for steem or SBD, you can contact me here or my Homesteaderscoop shop ( https://homesteaderscoop.com/store/vumap/ ) ^_^ ****


silvia beneforti
Sort:  

Wonderful day you had so nice to see these special shots

Yes, it was a wonderful Sunday ^_^

Hi, @silviabeneforti!

You just got a 0.09% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I can't express how much I enjoy such festivals:) A possibility to wear fancy suits without risk of instant toothache, lice and sudden death from plague lol:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73