Signs of Spring! Leveling My Photography Skills with the Colors of Spring!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Leveling My Photography Skills with the Colors of Spring!


Imgur


Today the sun came by for a visit, so I thought it would be a good time to take some pictures of our flowers. When we first moved here in 1999, there were no plants or wild life on the property. The piece of land was an old cow pasture, and has a man-made pond, that has dried up and we now use as our driveway.

Over the years we have collected different types of plants and added to our Spring and Summer flower gardens. The very first thing I planted were these azaleas. They were barely a foot high when I planted them. We have moved them many times, so they do bloom a bit later than other azaleas in the area, but they have bloomed every year since we planted them.


Imgur


These flowered bushes attract all kind of wild life, but mostly the bees and the butterflies. As we increased the number of plants and flowers other wildlife began visiting our yard. We now greet a variety of birds, squirrels, bunny rabbits, and lots of lizards.

I did see one butterfly floating between the azaleas, but he was elusive to the camera. I didn’t see any lizards today. I do think it is still too chilly for the lizards to lay around in the sun. I did get a couple shots of a bumble bee as he pollinated the flowers.


Imgur


My cat became jealous of the attention I was paying to the bumble bee and decided she would jump in the spot where the bee was buzzing. I figured I might as well take her picture too; since she is just so darn cute. The azaleas make a pretty backdrop for her too.


Imgur


Imgur


My cat loves to be outside. The only reason she even comes into the house is to eat. Day or night she wants to be outside where the bugs and the critters live. When I am outside my cat will be right by my side. If the sun is shining, she will use me as shade. She doesn’t care if she can share the outdoors with me.


Imgur


She also loves to lay and roll around in the sand. It is cute to watch, not so cute when she comes into the house and jumps on my desk with sandy paws. But I forgive her because she is my princess kitty cat and I know she loves the warm sand.


There were many other signs of Spring around our yard. Here are some of the photos I took this afternoon…


Imgur
This Hosta gets bigger every year and flowers in the summer.


Imgur
Baby bulbs blooming through the blueberry bushes.


Imgur
These flowers come back every year and multiply like crazy. They bloom only in the mornings!


Imgur
Found a buttercup flower peeking through the leaves.


Imgur
Boston Ivy growing new sprouts!


Imgur
Rose buds making their Spring debut


Imgur
Not sure why, but spiders love our roses. Be sure to shake the roses before you smell them!!!


Imgur


I’m as happy as my cat rolling around in warm sand over seeing the signs of Spring around my house. There will be many more flowers, bushes and trees blooming in our yard throughout the year, but these first blooms of Spring are always a welcomed event for me.

I am glad the rain did not beat down the flowers of the azalea bushes; as it does most years, and that I had a chance to take some photos of the flowers and Springtime critters. I hope you enjoy seeing them. And for my friends who are still seeing snow, I hope this gives you hope that Spring is still on its way to visit!


Enjoy the Sunshine if you Can!!


*all photos taken by me using my Samsung Galaxy 17V


wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

Very nice photos

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 13 SBD worth and should receive 108 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54