Old school

Hello

20200423_141114_Edited.jpg

•Day 21

Yesterday I was here. It's part of seminary school. This is not a typical architecture style of new buildings, but in the past, it was. I don't know how they felt about it or why they built their houses like this, but probably they haven't same feelings that we have about it.
It also begs the question, why did we changed our architecture style?

Part of it is about going up, but even one story buildings are not built like those in the past?

Did we change it because it was better or we just copied blindly?


All photos are taken by me, except noted.

Sort:  

Very beautiful space and architecture. I prefer the old.

I prefer old too, I don't know why they changed it. Was it just because of the population growth?

Maybe, sometimes, youth think they have a newer, better idea of beauty, of how things work, etc and I think they do advance society, art, etc, but takes them sometime to come back and discover the beauty (growing older) in the craftsmanship/spirit/vein of how something in the past was created?
Also, many older buildings, rugs, houses, temples were built with the finest materials, (perhaps, more abundant which rings true with your idea of population growth) and now cheaper/efficiency are valued more?
I like to go to the estate jewelry shop (at least I once did) and the man there lets me look at the most expensive rings knowing that I will appreciate them. I have not purchased a diamond, but a few 1950's cocktail rings, but he tells me earlier on that diamonds were not even graded for nice rings--either it was A+ on clarity, etc or it was tossed aside, no yellows or dims accepted for eternal symbol.
Just as hand-knotted, wool, antique Persian rugs. Something else I love to admire!

There is way too much "bad" architecture here (in the west in general I would say, but possibly globally) which is actually making people sicker than they need to be. Even the Chinese though, with their notion of "chi"or "ki" and feng shui (energy flow) set a bad example in too many ugly concrete boxes. Bad architecture depletes energy and fails to stimulate creativity. This is not about accounting for taste, although national variations will always exist, owing to climate and different karmic national missions. There are just certain harmonic laws that work for the human race and some that are disharmonic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88