What Kind Of Ant Is This?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I stumbled across this little guy a couple of days ago and have never seen an ant like this so decided to take a photo, unfortunately my camera is not the best though I think it is enough to identify what kind of ant it is.

I can't find anything online that resembles this little soldier so wondered if anyone can tell me?

Screenshot_20180625_233305.jpg

Any ideas please let me know!

Sort:  

It is possible that this is an ant-tailor, or this is Mycocepurus smithii, in this species all the feminine ants

it's a weaver ant, tree ant.. I didn't realise it was a queen so had difficulty identifying it. It looks like a nice ant!

Excellent picture, the queen is not very easy to see @skyhooks !

Whoa @skyhooks. Even I haven't seen such ant before. This is a very unique and rare kinda creature. Oh this looks so good. Very nice photography. A very detailed and clear image.

You really think it's rare?

Not sure one you don't want to bite you though! 💯🐒

Yeah he could have probably taken my leg off in one go. I really do wonder what it is though, someone told me it was a carpenter ant but I don't think it is.

Nice Picture skyhooks ! :D
We would love to invite you to our Discord server.
In here we have more artists for you to connect to and
the ability to promote yourself and your blogs. Keep on Steemin my friend !
http://discord.gg/B6CxGGS

Don't want to receive messages from us ?
Type @smartmediagroup STOP in a reply to us.
Note: there is no reply on this stop feature.

A mute ant? He didn't say much as it happens.

Honeypot ant
Honeypot ants, also called honey ants, are ants which have specialized workers (repletes, plerergates, or rotunds) that are gorged with food by workers to the point that their abdomens swell enormously. Other ants then extract nourishment from them. They function as living larders. Honeypot ants belong to any of several genera, including Myrmecocystus and Camponotus.

Yes, I can copy and paste too. >:(

The marks on the abdomen are similar, this may be a collector of the same species.

The interesting thing was this ant not only had very earthy green and brown colouring but is was also mat as opposed to glossy... I'm still not sure.

It's a queen ant, but I do not know of any butterflies. But he raised a good question. I was fortunate to see you in your cooperation. Thank you so much for you.

8c5d82ab2f66954bb7047cc1dddac2ad.jpg Queen Tree Ant, yes.. Thanks

Whoa @skyhooks. Even I haven't seen such ant before. This is a very unique and rare kinda creature. Oh this looks so good. Very nice photography. A very detailed and clear image.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78